Shimizu Shota [Aishiteru (アイシテル; I Love You) ] (2nd Single)

October 19, 2008

Aishiteru (アイシテル; I Love You)
STAND BY ME
LAST SUMMER (V.I.P. Ver. feat. Rueed)

Shimizu’s second single starts off with the beautiful a-side Aishiteru (アイシテル; I Love You). I absolutely adore this song, because it is just so gorgeous and embodies love and how much of it you can actually feel for another person. The arrangement is just lovely, its a beautiful instrumental that I can listen to over and over. Shimizu really has a great voice and I just love the tones he used to sing this song; the deepness of his voice during the verses and how it rose during the chorus. He puts such emotion and depth into this track, and I just feel it every time I listen to it, which I try to play at least once a day, because it just runs across my mind and I have to listen to it. Aishiteru is the type of song that makes you believe in love, believe that its real.

The b-side is the cover of Ben E. Kings’ 1961 released hit STAND BY ME. This is not only one of my favorite songs of all time but one of my favorite movies of all time, and both are timeless and never gets old no matter how many times I listen to the song or watch the movie. I was ecstatic when I saw that he was covering this, but a little wary, because I don’t normally like Japanese covers of English songs. Shimizu did a wonderful job covering this song, and I really felt everything he was singing. There was still an accent, but I love how he gave this cover his all, and did his best, that’s really all that matters to me. I can listen to his cover and sing along with it and just feel all the emotions I felt with the original. This is a powerful song and I felt he did it justice.

The third track is the fresh LAST SUMMER (V.I.P. Ver. feat. Rueed). I got such a feeling of nostalgia and youth with this song, and was very surprised with how it turned out because I didn’t expect to like it at all. The arrangement is very crisp and airy, and made me feel like I was on a ship, sailing the seas with a bunch of close friends and just having a good time and feeling free for the first time. Shimizu’s vocals were consistent and fun and really made this song stand out, when in any other case it would have faded into the background and been forgotten.

-Grade: A
Rating: *** stars

Shimizu Shota’s second single Aishiteru (アイシテル; I Love You), is just such a great and solid single. It really was a step up, and that’s saying a lot because I absolutely loved HOME. I can not wait for his third single My Treasure to come out, and then hopefully his debut. I am such a fan, and I really can’t get enough of him and his voice. Shimizu has a knack for rnb music, he’s really impressed me.

3 Responses to “Shimizu Shota [Aishiteru (アイシテル; I Love You) ] (2nd Single)”

  1. wjohns Says:

    i love ‘aishiteru’ and ‘stand by me’ was excellent but i’m gonna have to give that last track another listen ‘cuz it sort of blew over my head😦

    • memoriesoflove Says:

      i can’t even remember what the last song was, but i did so adore ‘stand by me’ its one of my favorite songs and movies.

  2. wjohns Says:

    by the way! i reviewed this single, too🙂


Leave a Reply

