Tohoshinki [Beautiful you/Sennen Koi Uta (千年恋歌; Thousand Year Love Song)] (22nd Single)

November 18, 2008

Beautiful you
Sennen Koi Uta (千年恋歌; Thousand Year Love Song)
Sennen Koi Uta Korean ver. (千年恋歌 韓国語ver.)

Tohoshinki’s 22nd single starts off with the acoustic guitar-rock sounding Beautiful you. I actually really liked this song when I first heard it, and I still somewhat like it now. The arrangement is a bit soft rock, I really like the guitar it adds such atmosphere to this song. The vocals were good, I only really caught JaeJoong’s voice though. The verses are pretty OK, but the chorus is love: ‘you’re such a beautiful woman!’ I always laugh at the: ‘you’re such a beautiful you’ part. The one thing I really hated about this song was the bridge, the harmonies and the vocals were way off, and it just did not sound right. It nearly ruined the song for me, and I wonder why they felt the need to add it, it was almost like I was listening to another more awful song, and then it transitions back to the chorus and goes out oddly. I mean Junsu was really getting into it, but it almost sounded like the beat was moving faster than their vocals and its all, ‘WTF happened to the song?’ I do like this track, though in a sense it’s pretty weak for an a-side.

The next track is the singles second a-side Sennen Koi Uta (千年恋歌; Thousand Year Love Song). I do somewhat like this song, but at the same time, its incredibly boring. The arrangement is pretty simple, sounds a little sparkly and whimsical though. Once again I heard mainly JaeJoong in the vocal department, but he did a pretty decent job. This song just comes across as really dull and boring, till the point that I just find that I’m either ignoring it all together or wondering why it hasn’t ended yet. They’ve done much better ballads than this, I don’t know what went wrong.

This is the Type C version of this single so it includes the Korean version of Sennen Koi Uta. I decided to review this single instead of the Type B one, since I don’t particularly favor CLAP! and there’s no way I want to hear the remix. The Korean version is still just as boring as the Japanese version.

-GRADE: C
Rating: * star

Tohoshinki’s 22nd single Beautiful you/Sennen Koi Uta (千年恋歌; Thousand Year Love Song) is a bit of a disappointment. It really is. Beautiful you is pretty good, well the first half of the song, then towards the latter it becomes something else entirely, and not a good something else either. Sennen Koi Uta for a nice sounding ballad is just boring, and the Korean version does nothing for me either. I felt that this whole Type A, B and C thing was a bust, because not one of these singles are worth the money fans no doubt dished out for it.

Leave a Reply

