Morning Musume [Mikan (みかん, Mandarin Orange)] (35th Single)

November 30, 2008

Mikan (みかん, Mandarin Orange)
Bon Kyu! Bon Kyu! Bomb Girl (ボン キュッ!ボン キュッ!BOMB GIRL)

Morning Musume’s 35th single starts off with the a-side Mikan (みかん, Mandarin Orange). What an odd title? Hmm? I really didn’t like this song when it first came out, I thought it was a whole bunch of noise, but its obvious that I didn’t listen to it, because personally I didn’t care too. I’m not a Momusu fan, but I do happen to enjoy their music, my favorite song being Mr. Moonlight. Anyways, I thought the arrangement was very light, pop-ish and cute. It had a friendly and warm air about it that was nice. The vocals were decent, I thought they had good harmony… considering. I mean the song can come across as very annoying; it touches the line but never crosses it. I thought the song was a bit long, and I admittedly was waiting for it to end. I did enjoy this though, a whole lot more this time around. It’s pretty fun and a bit catchy.

The next track on the single is the b-side Bon Kyu! Bon Kyu! Bomb Girl (ボン キュッ!ボン キュッ!BOMB GIRL). This song is ridiculous. It sounds so Broadway, but not even that, but musical-like. It also sounds like something I would hear on an animated movie, like Cats Don’t Dance or something. Its just so quirky and cute, and seems pretty random. I mean different girls pop up and sing or shout some things, its really crazy. I mean the a-side didn’t quite get annoying, but this song certainly does. Its just too many things going on and though its endearing, I just found I couldn’t be bothered to care. If I was a fan I’d probably like this song, but I’m not, so I don’t.

-GRADE: B
Rating: ** stars

Morning Musume’s 35th single Mikan was pretty OK. I found I really enjoyed the a-side Mikan, it was a fun and nice listen. The b-side Bon Kyu! Bon Kyu! Bomb Girl I however did not like all that much, and the title is just really… WTF?

Leave a Reply

