Perfume [GAME] (First Album)

December 19, 2008

Polyrhythm
plastic smile
GAME
Baby cruising Love
Chocolate Disco
Macaroni
Ceramic Girl
Take me Take me
Secret Secret
Butterfly
Twinkle Snow Powdery Snow
Puppy love

The album starts off with the monotonous Polyrhythm. This song was a headache in the making. There’s not much I can say about the song especially since its so synthesized that everything ended up sounding the same. I found nothing impressive about the arrangement or their vocodered voices. It was all just too much. I found relief in the chorus, which was a bit good, but after a while even that bleeds away and all I’m left with is robotic sound.

The next track on the album is the pretty infectious plastic smile. Perfume, like the former Heartsdales, have some very good and catchy chorus’ and depending a chorus alone can make me fall in love with a song I would have ignored completely. That is the case with this song. The verses are forgettable, utterly and the synth beat makes the arrangement sound very muffled and or grainy; dated. The chorus is what brings this song out, because its catchy and charming all in one go. Plus, I like the title. Its both creepy and sad.

The next track is the up-tempo? GAME. I was actually pretty surprised by this song. When I first listened to this album, I paid absolutely no attention whatsoever to this song, because it was like all I heard was noise, very monotonous noise. This time around though the chorus actually snagged my attention. Its pretty interesting and aggressive in a sense, made the song stand out even if towards the end all I heard was the same thing over and over again: ‘perfect gaaaame!’ is that what they were singing?

The next track on the album is the boring Baby cruising Love. Ugh. It just didn’t end fast enough. I don’t know what I just heard, but I’m more than certain I didn’t like it… whatever it was. I was thinking this song was going to be good, no scratch that, I’m lying, I was thinking it was going to be decent. All that flew straight out the window when the song started, and the beat sounded like everything else I’ve already heard. The verses flew by in I have no recollection of actually hearing them, and then all I heard was ‘baby cruising love’ over and over and over again  (sigh)…

The next track on the album is the infectious Chocolate Disco. Oh, I know I give techno a lot of crap, but this is one techno song that I can not possibly hate, and is the reason why I even ventured into the whole Perfume realm and J-tech in general. I mean when I first heard this song I was captivated by how they could make, ‘chocolate disco’ loop so creatively in a way that made me throw away my common sense and start singing along and doing weird in-beat moves with my hands and head. I like how catchy the beat is, I mean it sounds like you’re inside a computer riding along the circuits, if that makes any sense. But its really quite fun. I like their vocals during this song, I mean you know they’re computerized but its not so heavily doused in it, and it gives you the chance to actually enjoy the song and know there are actual humans singing it instead of robots. This is my favorite perfume song, but that was pretty obvious.

The next track is the down-tempo? Macaroni. When I saw what the title was, I nearly groaned. One, because how can you make a song titled ‘macaroni’ good, and two, I don’t too much like macaroni anymore (use to love it when I was a kid). Well, this song completely surprised me. The synth took five and the dominant sound I heard were drums and bass, which was a nice and refreshing change. Perfume’s vocals were fine, still vocodered of course, but not to the point that it distracted or took away from the song. I like the slow approach they took with this, it was nice and gave the album a much needed slow-down, especially after the insanely infectious Chocolate Disco.

The next track on the album is the oddly endearing Ceramic Girl. When I read the title, I didn’t know what to think and just hoped the song wouldn’t be too annoying. It is a bit annoying, but not in a way in which turned me off the song. The arrangement is typical. I liked the vocal performances however, they were very interesting. I mean, ‘ceramic girl’ what does it mean? Nothing probably, but I liked it. I also liked the little thing they did with their voices, I can’t really explain it, but I thought it was neat. This song surprised me in such a good way.

The next track on the album is the looping Take me Take me. All I heard was: ‘take me tonight, take me, take me!’… seriously. There are times where certain songs just don’t seem to end fast enough, and not only that, but there are songs that make you think: ‘will it ever end?’ this is one of those songs. It seemed to go on forever, with no end in sight. Luckily I had stopped paying attention to the song long before thoughts of ripping off my ears surfaced my mind. The beat sounds a bit intimate, I honestly don’t know why, maybe its because of that constant beeping noise. This song isn’t bad, its just impossible. I can’t possibly get into something that has no point to it.

The next track is the all right Secret Secret. I actually thought this song was going to be another Take Me Take Me since the titles sound so similar. Its not of course, and thank goodness for that. The arrangement was nice for a techno piece, a little slow as well and for some reason made me think of rushing water. Perfume’s vocals were tolerable and I actually enjoyed the chorus.

The next track on the album is the mind-numbing Butterfly. All I heard was sparkling tech noises, and them singing something in a sort of looping moan. I don’t know. This song is so forgettable and annoying that I don’t really care to go back and try and figure out what I just heard, because if I listened to it twice and didn’t get it, I’m just not going too.

The second to last track on the album is Twinkle Snow Powdery Snow. This song started off with a bit of variety, I mean when it started I instantly thought of Clazziquai. Then it settled into its own little comfortable and mellow niche and stayed there. Perfume’s vocals were a bit annoying at the beginning but as the song progresses it becomes bearable. I actually liked the chorus. This is an all right track.

The last track on the album is the interesting and not so interesting Puppy love. This song is pretty forgettable in a sense, but what makes it memorable, a bit, is its pretty catchy chorus. The arrangement was typical, and their vocals were nice. I still don’t like this song though.

-GRADE: B
Rating: ** stars

Perfume’s first album GAME was not (and I say this with MUCH reluctance) as bad as I had once thought it was, in fact its a pretty decent album. By no means is it good, but its definitely passable. I have a huge dislike for techno music, I just can’t stand it. You’ll always hear me saying: ‘i enjoy all genres of music except for that techno crap,’ and its true. I find Perfume tolerable. I like their style, I like their voices somewhat, even though they’re not really singing with their actual voices. I like how creative their videos are, and how their dance moves are always catchy and cute. I just find them adorable in a serious way, and can actually tolerate their music (and capsules Sugarless GIRL). When I first listened to this album, I thought it stunk. In fact the only song I liked was of course, Chocolate Disco. Now I find that I like a few, most surprising being Macaroni and Ceramic Girl. I still hate how mostly all the beats sound the same, and the vocodor makes their voices after a while sound monotonous and creepily robotic. I’ll always hate that actually. Oh, and let me not forget that some of the songs on here were just unbearable, I wont name them, they know who they are. GAME was a pretty decent debut from them, but I hope they bring more the second time around.

Leave a Reply

