Super Junior [Don’t Don] (Second Album) ~special review~

December 24, 2008

돈 돈! (Don’t Don)
소원이 있나요 (Sapphire Blue)
You’re my endless love (말하자면)
Marry U
Marry U (New Version)
갈증 (A Man In Love)
Disco Drive
미워 (Hate U, Love U)
I am
사랑이 떠나다 (She’s gone)
마지막 승부 (The girl is mine)
거울 (Mirror)
우리들의 사랑 (Our Love)
Missin’ U
Midnight Fantasy
Thank you
갈증 (A Man In Love)
Song For you [Bonus Track]

The album starts off with the up-tempo and frenzied 돈 돈! (Don’t Don). I didn’t really like this song when it first came out, but its really grown on me. I like how dark-rock, and edgy the arrangement is, it creates such mood and atmosphere. I thought they all did good. The aggressive singing, the screams (HeeChul?), the quick rapping, the harmonious chorus and the definite highlight of the song: Henry’s impressive violin skills.

The next track on the album is the nostalgic 소원이 있나요 (Sapphire Blue). I’m sorry, but I really love this song. The arrangement is so clear, and makes me think of the ocean. Suju’s vocal performances were just really good, and flowed so well with it. I just adore the chorus, and DongHae’s part. This song makes me happy and sad at the same time.

The next track on the album is the somewhat down-tempo You’re my endless love (말하자면). You would think this was a down-tempo song, but its actually pretty upbeat. The arrangement is nothing really interesting and does what it should. Their vocal performances were nice. Its seems rather cheesy, I mean it kind a is, but its a decent listen.

The next track on the album is the charming Marry U. I really adore this song, its just so sweet! The arrangement is pretty basic, but its gives off a very warm and close feeling of love and adoration. The vocal performances were really nice, I loved how their voices just sounded so sweet and light. This is one of my favorites.

The next track on the album is a new version of the charmer Marry U. What can one say? Its the same song, just a lot clearer.

The next track on the album is the underwhelming 갈증 (A Man In Love). I don’t know, this isn’t a bad song, but it really could have been better. The arrangement sounds juvenile, like someone throwing coins on glass or something, and not only that but it sounds awfully familiar… like an arrangement I’ve heard before. I most likely have. The vocals were OK, but it just sounded like they were saying the words instead of singing them. I mean the whole flow of the song was just choppy and uninteresting. The chorus was a bit decent though.

The next track on the album is the lukewarm Disco Drive. When I first saw the title of the song, I groaned and thought: only Suju, and then I laughed. This song isn’t as corny as I thought it was going to be, but its still pretty lame. The arrangement is a bit lank, and soap-opera-ish. Then there’s the saxophone that plays at such odd intervals, I wondered what was even the point of it. Their vocals were all right, but I didn’t care for them. This song is pretty forgettable.

The next track is the bland 미워 (Hate U, Love U). I liked this song when I first listened to this album, not so much so now. Its pretty boring, and seems to play without really being heard. The arrangement was nice, but nothing that really jumps out and snags your attention. The same can be said about the vocal performances, which were pretty ‘meh’ to me.

The next track on the album is the sort of up-tempo I am. I really liked this song. The beat is fresh and stays consistent, plus its kind of empowering in a sense. The vocals were quite good, especially when they were all singing in harmony: ‘i’m a lonely, lonely man!’ well, I believe that is what they were saying.

The next track on the album is the rather wang-sty 사랑이 떠나다 (She’s gone). This song is pretty corny. The arrangement played like air, I hardly cared for it, but I guess it was fitting. The vocal performances weren’t bad, just impossible. I don’t want to feel like I’m being forced to care about your sadness, I want it to come naturally. I got such a, ‘trying too hard to tug at the heart-strings’ vibe from this song, and in the end felt exasperated with it.

The next track on the album is the mid-tempo 마지막 승부 (The girl is mine). I really like this song, mostly because I didn’t expect it to go the way it did. I like how fast-paced the arrangement seems, even though its not really fast at all, it gives you quite the adrenaline rush. The vocal performances were quite good as well, all aggressive and assertive, it gave you this feeling that they were all fighting for the same girl.

The next track on the album is the rather nice 거울 (Mirror). When the song first started off, I actually thought Wheesung had made a cameo, because it sounded exactly like how he would start off one of his songs. It was really impressive, because Wheesung is a strong singer. The arrangement was mainly the piano, very nice on the ears, a bit dramatic and had a nice rnb flavor to it. The vocals like I said were good, especially the humming, just brought a lot of personality and depth to this song.

The next track on the album is the bland 우리들의 사랑 (Our Love). This song started off promising enough, with a nice vocal performance from whomever, then we hit the chorus and everything gets lame. The arrangement is a bit sparkly and unmemorable. The vocal performances were nice in a sense, but just way too cheesy. It was almost like I couldn’t stand to listen to it anymore, so doused in sickening sugar as it was.

The next track on the album is the pretty aggressive Missin’ U. I kind of like this song, and then I kind of don’t like it. The arrangement is really nothing special, I found I didn’t really care for it. The vocals however were pretty decent, I like how assertive the chorus was, like they were really telling this girl how much they were missing her, and they wanted her to know it.

The next track on the album is the weak Midnight Fantasy. I always get a bit wary when I see title’s that have ‘midnight’ in its title. You’d think it’d be a good song, but its more often than not, isn’t. The arrangement is a bit basic and sparkly, which made it lame in a sense. The vocal performances are nice, but they seem a bit childish and I find that I just didn’t care for them. The chorus is all right, but this song just does nothing for me.

The next track on the album is the uninspired Thank you. ‘Thank-you’ songs are thoughtful, but they always bore me, and this is no different. The arrangement is an agonizingly basic, and bland piano melody. The vocals are hit or miss. It was a bit half and half. This song is just really forgettable.

The second to last track on this album is the mind-numbing 갈증 (A Man In Love). I’m only going to say a few words in concerns to this, since I’ve already talked about how much I loath remixes 9/10 of the time. Was this remix really necessary? No.

The last track on the album is a bonus: Song For you. Not that its much of a bonus, but its a pretty decent song. The arrangement is light and nice on the ears, and the vocal performances were pretty good. Its the type of song that will put a warm smile on your face, and its a sweet end to the album.

-GRADE: C
Rating: * stars

Super Junior’s second album Don’t Don is thankfully a lot better than their first album, but still its just not really all that good. I’ll be honest, I’m am not a fan of SUJU’s music, but I am a fan of them as individuals. When I first listened to this album, back when it had first came out, I really enjoyed it, and it made me seek out their first album which was short and forgettable. This album seems to have become long and forgettable. This is the re-packaged version, so it comes with four new songs, but they don’t do much but drag the album down even more. I mean what was the point of adding the new version of Marry U right after the original? Then the A Man In Love remix was a whole bunch of, ‘whats the point?’ Still, it was some good tracks on here, those being: Don’t Don, Sapphire Blue, Marry U and The girl is mine. Don’t Don was an album I had once enjoyed, now I find it a very underwhelming listen. I hope their next album is a good one.

Leave a Reply

