Rurutia [Meme] (Fourth Album)

December 26, 2008

Dancing Meme
tone
リラが散っても (Rira ga Chitte mo; Even if the Lilacs Die)
Primary (album ver.)
シグナル (Signal)
スカーレット (Scarlet)
セレナイト (Selenite)
ヒースの楽園 (Heath no Rakuen; Paradise in the Heath)
青い薔薇 (Aoi Bara; Blue Rose)
蝶ノ森 (Chō no Mori; Butterfly Forest)
コバルトの星 (Cobalt no Hoshi/Cobalt Stars)
Sleeping Meme

The album starts of with the lively intro Dancing Meme. Its a pretty interesting intro, that makes me think of a Disney movie, particularly Beauty and the Beast and gliding across a ballroom floor.

The next track is the calm tone. I don’t really get this song, and I think that no matter how many times I listen to it, I never really will. That’s not a bad thing, and I think that’s why this song works, because that aspect of it certainly makes it interesting. The arrangement is a pretty mellow drum and bass arrangement that gives off a very thoughtful air. Rurutia’s vocals are a bit taxing, but if you can ignore how her voice always seems to sound like its going out (but still manages to sound pretty and fragile), this is a good listen.

The next track on the album is the windy リラが散っても (Rira ga Chitte mo; Even if the Lilacs Die). This song sounds very airy. Oh, when this song first started it really tripped me out, because it sounded so country, I think it was a violin but I’m really not sure. It grows on you after awhile and sounds pretty nice. Rurutia’s vocals were thankfully very much so controlled, and the song flowed along like water down a stream. Its a really nice yet odd little song. It also sounds very nostalgic.

The next track on the album is the epic-sounding Primary (album ver.). I actually thought this was a interlude, because it started out with sighs and a piano and then it fades. It picks right back up though and eventually goes into the song. The arrangement is really the high light, its so sweeping and sounds like something you would hear in an opera hall or concert hall. Rurutia’s vocals were soft and whisper-like, she kept the song going, but it was nothing to write home about. I didn’t expect much from this song, and it doesn’t really give me much, but its still a nice listen.

The next track on the album is the mid-tempo シグナル (Signal). This song really surprised me, it was pretty up-beat and coming from Rurutia that’s a rare treat indeed. The arrangement like most of Rurutia’s arrangements are: odd and exotic. Her vocals this time around meshed perfectly. I mean it really gives you the feeling of a signal.

The next track on the album is the oddly irritating スカーレット (Scarlet). I actually thought I was going to like this song, and for a minute I did. The arrangement is the only interesting thing about this song, really. It plays like electrified air, like electricity crackling along the currents of the air. Its weird, but a good listen. Rurutia’s vocals are pretty irritating. I’m not sure how she managed this, since her voice was mostly soft throughout, but it was just something about her tone that made my head feel like it was throbbing. Its also really forgettable.

The next track on the album is the airy セレナイト (Selenite). This is a pretty dull song, and I mean dull to the point that it’ll drive you to frustration, because no song should play so pointlessly. The arrangement is nice in its own way, but its still a bit bland and simple, and the ‘oh’s’ seem to only be there to make it seem more interesting than it actually is. Rurutia’s vocals sound very grating, because its like she can’t seem to settle on one tone, so she just goes high and low every other second, its all just really annoying. NOTE: I listened to this song twice more after this review, its not as bad as I made it out to be, its a decent listen. However, I still don’t like it, its too long-winded for me.

The next track on the album is the somewhat up-beat ヒースの楽園 (Heath no Rakuen; Paradise in the Heath). This song really surprised me, and sounds very familiar, chorus-wise. The arrangement is a bit funky and rhythmic and I really liked it, it definitely kept me interested in engaged in the song. Its also weird how Rurutia’s voice is so soft and fragile but she still managed a bit of attitude during the chorus.

The next track on the album is the desolate-sounding 青い薔薇 (Aoi Bara; Blue Rose). I can’t remember ever really listening to this song, so for this review I had to listen to it twice, because the first time it sounded so unmemorable, and with songs I’m unsure of or I think has promise or I just want to see if I really dislike or not, I listen to them more than once. The arrangement was really interesting, I enjoyed the sort of hopeless air it exuded. Rurutia’s vocals are pretty soft, and that is what I think makes this song a bit forgettable, though she picks it up during the chorus. This is a hit or miss song. I like it though.

The next track on the album is the interesting 蝶ノ森 (Chō no Mori; Butterfly Forest). I really didn’t think I was going to like this song. I mean the arrangement was fitting, but nothing different compared to Rurutia. Rurutia’s vocals have that weird, ‘sounds like her voice is going out’ thing, but it actually seems to work to this songs advantage. I don’t think I care too much for the verses, but they’re fine. Its actually the chorus that I like–that, in the ‘oh’s’ she sings at the end of them, it brought a bit of variety to this song.

The last full track on the album is the forgettable コバルトの星 (Cobalt no Hoshi; Cobalt Stars). This song really just goes over your head, and by the time you actually care enough to pay attention to the song, its over. The arrangement plays like air, and Rurutia’s vocals aren’t bad but they aren’t particularly interesting either. Cobalt is like a deep shade of blue I believe, so the title is basically: ‘blue stars’ very pretty, too bad the song is so unmemorable.

The last track on the album is the outro Sleeping Meme. I actually thought it was going to be as short as the interlude, but its actually over three minutes worth of an instrumental. It starts off lively and ends on a pretty mellow note.

-GRADE: B
Rating: ** stars

Rurutia’s fourth album Meme is pretty good, but not very memorable. I believe this is her weakest album, because I like Chorian a lot more than this, and that album had pointless instrumentals? I can’t really say much about this album, I mean sometimes I just don’t know what to say. I liked the majority of the songs on here, so that was a plus, even if I can’t really remember them. Meme was fine, but her first three albums are just so much better.

Leave a Reply

