Shimizu Shota [HOME] (1st Single)

December 30, 2008

HOME
Music feat. Boy-Ken
Miss You

Shimizu Shota’s 1st single starts off with the a-side HOME. I was so blown away when I first heard this song, and so very touched at the same time. I immediately thought: ‘I have to hear more from him!’ I’ve been following his music ever since, and ‘ashiteru’ certainly solidified that. The arrangement starts off with such a heart-breaking piano melody, that always make me feel sad and lonely when I hear it. The arrangement then transitions smoothly into the bass, and retains a thoughtful quality throughout. Shimizu has such a good voice, I mean ‘wow’ I just did not expect this guy to sound so good, and he just blows my mind, especially during the chorus and the ad-libs towards the end of the track. This song really makes me reflect on my youth and my past, and it always makes me feel so regretful. I always have a sudden urge to cry when I hear ‘home’ but I hold it all in. Shimizu couldn’t have picked a more better and fitting song to debut with, seriously.

The next track on the single is its first b-side Music feat. Boy-Ken. Er, was that guy like talking in a Jamaican accent in the beginning? I don’t get this song, and I don’t really like it all that much either. The arrangement sounds very island-y and tropical, which should be fun in refreshing, but I got such a ‘trapped on a deserted island’ vibe from it. Shimizu’s vocals sound nice, though he appears to be trying to do too much with it and he comes across as sounding very weak. He should have went for a more relaxed and carefree tone. Boy-Ken’s part meshed well but it was unnecessary. This is a pretty forgettable song.

The last track on the single is its second b-side Miss You. I like this song, but then again I don’t like this song. I like it, because its a nice little rnb down-tempo track, with a fairly good arrangement and a sincere vocal performance from Shimizu. I don’t like this song, because it doesn’t really play like an rnb tune; the arrangement is plain and unmemorable and I just felt like Shimizu could have done more with this song to make it stand-out. Instead it just seems to flare and die out. I do like the: ‘i still miss you, baby’ parts though. I don’t know, it could have been much worse.

-GRADE: B
Rating: ** stars

Shimizu Shota’s 1st single HOME was pretty underwhelming. HOME is of course a stand-out track, and if this had been the only song on the single I would have given it an A+ for sure. Its just too good of a song not to. Music fell flat, which is a shame, because it could have really been a fun and fresh song. Miss You is a bit weak and forgettable, and I normally go for songs like that, but I just really felt nothing while listening to it. HOME –the a-side that is– stands out, too bad its preceded by two lack-luster b-sides.

2 Responses to “Shimizu Shota [HOME] (1st Single)”

  1. wjohns Says:

    I just got done listening to ‘music’ and ‘miss you’, i thought they were both very good but the wannabe Jamaican sounding rapper in ‘music’ was really annoying so i didn’t really pay too much attention to him as for Shimizu’s vocals – they were awesome as always🙂

    • memoriesoflove Says:

      ‘miss you’ for some reason just blew right pass me, its like its not a bad down-tempo track and i want to like it so bad, but it just comes across as so unmemorable.


Leave a Reply

