Wonder Girls [The Wonder Years] (First Album)

January 2, 2009

I Wanna
이 바보 (“This Fool”)
Tell Me
Friend
Headache
뭐 어때 (“So What”)(Ft. David Kim)
Wishing On A Star
Move (Ft. Lee Min Woo)
가져가 (“Take It”)
Good Bye
Bad Boy
미안한 마음 (It’s Not Love)
Irony

The album starts off with the up-tempo I Wanna. This was a rather up-beat way to start the album. The arrangement is pretty interesting, though it really sounds like its been picked from the 80’s. The vocal performances were pretty strong, which was surprising. I definitely liked the chorus. This was a pretty good start to the album. ‘I wanna love you babay’

The next track on the album is the mid-tempo 이 바보 (“This Fool”). I did not expect to like this song, even though I like what the title translates to. I do like this song, because, I don’t know, its kind of funny to me. I mean when they say: ‘Ee babo’ I just think: ‘this fool!’ and its just very humorous. The arrangement was a bit generic and weird, but I guess it did its parts. The vocals were nice, especially the chorus and they brought a lot of personality to this track.

The next track on the album is the uber smash hit Tell Me. I told myself I would not become a victim of this song, I did. Its just so catchy, and the stupid dance moves are cute! The arrangement is a bit techno, but I found that I liked it and it really went well with the whole flow of the song. The vocal performances were good, they were pretty strong during the chorus, and they really made this song a lot of fun.

The next track on the album is the down-tempo Friend. I honestly don’t get why its not called ‘best-friend’ since that’s what she says. This is a pretty nice song, and I was a bit confused and underwhelmed at first, but by the time the first chorus ended I was pretty into it. The arrangement is simple, and the vocal performances were nice. A bit awkward though, especially when whoever starts singing in a sort of desperation, everything just seemed to sound hollow and forced, but I still found that I liked this song. ‘You’re my best-friend, but you can’t be my boyfriend’ Priceless!

The next track on the album is the mid-tempo Headache. I was like five seconds away from reviewing this song as stupid and calling it a day, and it certainly didn’t help that I had a headache at the time of reviewing this. I’m glad I got over myself and listened, this is a pretty good song. The arrangement sounds very reminiscent of the 80’s, and I thought that made it a bit fresh. The vocal performances were pretty nice, I love the attitude of the chorus, and did they say: ‘who’s that girl?’ at the end?

The next track on the album is 뭐 어때 (“So What”) feat. David Kim. This song is pretty hit or miss. If you like rnb you’ll most likely like this song, since it sounds pretty throwback and that’s always good. If not, you probably won’t care too much for it. I’m a part of the former so you know where I stand. The vocals were nice.

The next track on the album is the confused Wishing On A Star. This track couldn’t decide on whether it wanted to be a down-tempo track or a mid-tempo track, so it opted for both. The arrangement would be the down-tempo aspect of the song, and its a bit forgettable. The vocals are a bit loud, most notable during the chorus and it doesn’t really go with the beat of the song at all, in the whole thing just leaves you scratching your head, because either way you put it, the song just doesn’t sound right. I did like the: ‘wishing on a star…’ part at the end though.

The next track on the album is the mid-tempo Move Feat. Lee Min Woo. I’m not sure where MinWoo comes in at, because I don’t recall hearing him… though this is not the first time I’ve listened to a feat. track and haven’t heard the feat. artist. The arrangement is your typical rnb laced with techno beat, its all right and fitting. The vocals are good. The rap was a little weak, but it did its part. This is a pretty lame song: ‘move your shaking heart to me’ but its catchy.

The next track on the on the album is the down-tempo 가져가 (“Take It”). This song really surprised me. The arrangement is your typical snap and clap beat, but it really worked to this songs advantage. The vocal performances were really good, a lot of attitude during the chorus. I just love the way in which they chose to sing this song, very nice and this is definitely one of my favorites.

The next track on the album is the forgettable Good Bye. This song went clear over my head. The arrangement is generic and sounds like some throw away beat to Britney Spears’ ‘gimme more’. The vocal performances are decent, but the song is so fail, you don’t even care about that fact. I actually expected it to be a ballad.

The next track on the album is the thumping Bad Boy. If one ever takes the time to listen to this song, that person will know exactly what I mean by the word ‘thumping’ what a forgettable and rather annoying arrangement. I mean honestly, with that pulsating techno club beat accompanied with those tired wannabe sexy girl with attitude vocals were annoying. I honestly after a while didn’t know what the heck I was listening too or ever cared to know for that matter. Also, ‘bad part of me’ was I hearing things? Fail!

The second to last track on the album is the lank 미안한 마음 (It’s Not Love). Wow, for a ballad with a pretty nice an engaging arrangement and decent vocal performances, it certainly is a boring song. It just seems so awkward and uninspired. I found myself very uninterested and detached and couldn’t wait for it to end.

The last track on the album is the mid-tempo Irony. I really don’t get this song, I mean I know what ‘irony’ means, but I just don’t get the point of this song or why they chose it to end the album. The beat is pretty typical; danceable in a way — not that you actually would– and its actually more memorable than the song is. The vocals are decent. The song just comes across as very stupid to me, that and its pretty forgettable.

-GRADE: B
Rating: ** stars

The Wonder Girl’s first album The Wonder Years was pretty decent, especially coming from a young Kpop girl group. I don’t understand why the album was called the ‘wonder years’ I think they should have saved this title for a best compilation album, for you know, years and more albums later from now. Shockingly, I found that I really enjoyed listening to this album and am certainly re-evaluating how I look at them. The lead singers Sun-ye and Ye-eun have some pretty good voices, that can certainly pull off both rnb and pop. I found that I was most often than not always pleased with the vocal performances, even if the arrangements were nothing much to listen to let alone talk about. The beginning of the album started off strong, towards the middle it seemed to sort of fall off and then flat lined towards the end. This album seemed more experimental to me than a real serious effort from the girls and it really showed, making this album more or less half and half. The Wonder Years showed good effort though and I appreciated that. It could have been worse. You either like it or you don’t… or you’re like me, whose trapped in the middle.

7 Responses to “Wonder Girls [The Wonder Years] (First Album)”

  1. wondergirls4ever_94 Says:

    i think JYP is good at making songs… but i would like to hear them sing songs from other song writers, because i know that Korea has alot of song writers who are really good! all their ballads sound kinda the same too… I hope to hear a better song and a stronger ballad next time… still love though… please JYP, you’re good, but wonder girls need something stronger than just catchy songs…

  2. memoriesoflove Says:

    i agree. jyp’s really good. i mean the songs were catchy, but i just wanted a bit more substance and better ballads, like ‘this time’ or something. the ballads were very sparse on this album, and the two that were on here, did nothing for me.❤

  3. wondergirls4ever_94 Says:

    yeah… i feel the same way… Wonder Girls have good singers, but they are just average… great but not amazing… to be honest, sometimes i feel JYP is using the wrong strategy to make people realise their ability to sing as a singer… Ye eun and Sunye have strong vocals, but the songs don’t show that… the songs in this album all have like the same meaning, same beat…

    even though they aren’t the strongest singer, a powerful song with a great meaning will hind the lacks in their vocal ability…

    • memoriesoflove Says:

      I honestly agree, the songs they sing are really safe and average, and they tend to sing the same song for ages. I completely agree.

  4. wondergirls4ever_94 Says:

    error = hide the lacks

  5. wjohns Says:

    I’m really liking ‘So What’ right now, I’m gonna listen to the rest later. I’ll probably review the CD, too.

    • memoriesoflove Says:

      I’m hoping for some new material from them soon. I’d really like to read it if you do decide to review the album.


Leave a Reply

