DOUBLE [Reflex] (Fifth Album)

February 10, 2009

SPRING ~intro
SPRING LOVE
DOUBLE’S STYLE~interlude
We International feat. Ak’Sent
Reflex
This close
WHY DO YOU GO?
SUMMERTIME feat. VERBAL
Arabian Dream
Emotions
ROCK THE PARTY feat. BOY-KEN & ORQUESTA DE LA LUZ BAND
Winter Love Song
D-O-U-B-L-E~interlude
Call Me
THE LOVE ON FIRE
Run Away Love feat. Lupe Fiasco

The album starts off with SPRING ~intro. It starts off with a nice and peaceful instrumental and the sound of falling water, which is always lovely on the ears to me. Despite the fact that it is a nice intro, its way too quick and you don’t even get a chance to really enjoy the sounds or the atmosphere it invokes.

The next track on the album is the somewhat mid-tempo SPRING LOVE. This song it pretty hit or miss, because it honestly isn’t double’s most engaging song and I’m talking after the second album. The arrangement is a bit whimsical and light and does give one the impression of summer, its a rather nice arrangement. double’s vocals are very light, a little too light because it seemed like the arrangement was overpowering her vocals to the point that I could make her out only on certain parts of the song. This track has a nice flow, so I’m leaning mores towards liking it.

The next track on the album is DOUBLE’S STYLE~interlude. The first interlude consists of double singing tiredly over a pulsing rnb beat.

The next track on the album is the dull We International feat. Ak’Sent. I haven’t heard a song more pointless than this in a while. It was like ‘that ain’t cool’ all over again. I take it that Ak’Sent is a black female rapper, because if she’s not, I need to get my ears checked. Her parts were more or less wack and unmemorable and also in her first verse, did she say the same thing twice? I can’t recall hearing double outside of, ‘double, ak’sent, we international’ this song was a complete waste of space, here’s to never having to listen to it again.

The next track on the album is its title track Reflex. I really like this. Honestly when it first started I wanted to roll my eyes because I thought it was going to be stupid, but double certainly proved me wrong. I know I have expressed before how much I like mature songs and this is definitely one to add to the list. The arrangement is typical, but it gives off a very sexy and somewhat exotic vibe, despite it being very plain. I also liked double’s vocals. I mean she sung this song in full English, but I kept thinking she wasn’t, because a lot of the time I couldn’t quite make her out, but that could be because of the aggressive way in which she chose to sing this: ‘so as soon as you step through that door, be ready to break off that jacket’ lolz. double you get so many cool points for this!

The next track on the album is the sexy This close. Well, its not all that sexy, but its still a rather intimate song. The arrangement is pretty typical, especially for a song like this. I was a bit disappointed that double didn’t try to at least make it a little creative and different, but it does go with the whole flow of the song. double’s voice was appropriately sensual and it doesn’t take a genius to realize what she means when she sings: ‘this close to giving it up’

The next track on the album is the down-tempo WHY DO YOU GO?. I went into this song with little to no expectations and came out really pleased, seriously. I mean it started on a bit of an awkward note. The arrangement is minimal, its a piano piece that is very twinkly and made me think of water reflecting the moon. Though it didn’t seem to blend in all that well with double’s vocals, so she sounds like she’s singing over it. Eventually though everything seemed to fall into place, and when she gets to the ad-libs, I couldn’t help but say: ‘gone head girl’ because she really displayed some vocal prowess and bumped up the enjoyment factor. I would also like to ask this same question, though I doubt I’ll ever get an answer.

The next track on the album is the annoying SUMMERTIME feat. VERBAL. Hadn’t I just been listening to a pretty good song like four minutes ago? What happened? I mean I actually expected to like this song, but of course I was wrong. I can’t even recall the arrangement because it was really quite half-assed and juvenile. Verbal? I don’t know, I didn’t too much care for his parts. double? The only thing I can recall her saying is, ‘summer time’ in some high wannabe cute voice that threw me completely off. I mean they tried to make this song fun and engaging, but all it did was make me cringe and wish I had pressed the stop button sooner.

The next track on the album is the mid-tempo Arabian Dream. I really shouldn’t like this song, because come on but I do. The arrangement is so cliche, but its rather enticing and really makes you want to move your hips and belly dance. I guess the Middle Eastern flare is rubbing off on everyone, because I’ve been hearing a lot of these songs lately. double’s vocals are nothing to write home about, but I thought she did a decent job. I mean songs like this have the tendency to be incredibly corny, but they’re appealing at the same time.

The next track on the album is the up-tempo Emotions. I’m pretty half and half with this song, but I like it more than I dislike it. I actually expected this song to be down-tempo, because when I saw the title I thought of the ’emotions’ song by Patti LaBelle, well the remake that Destiny’s Child did. Then when the song came on, it kind of like blared out at me and then Mariah Carey’s ’emotions’ popped into my head and everything fell into place. The arrangement is pretty basic and sounds so school or college band, but it fit. double seemed to really be into this song, I loved the energy, I couldn’t not be pulled into this track. Its pretty OK, for a song that doesn’t seem to make any sense: ‘what’s going on? No one can stop me, emotions!’ I guess double.

The next track on the album is the uninteresting ROCK THE PARTY feat. BOY-KEN & ORQUESTA DE LA LUZ BAND. For this song to be called ‘rock the party’ its quite underwhelming. While listening to this I had absolutely no desire to get up and rock anything. The arrangement is your typical snap and clap beat accompanied by some synth, which made this song very corny and in no way an rnb party track. double’s vocals were nothing really and the only time I heard her was during the chorus, otherwise the feat. artists were talking and rapping all over the place. This song is also way to long to have no substance, its a complete bore and utterly forgettable.

The next track on the album is the down-tempo Winter Love Song. This is a really nice song. It started off an I was a bit uninterested with it, but as it went along I found myself really becoming absorbed because it gave off the feeling of winter and a somewhat sad love. double’s vocal performance was really good in this and I kept thinking she was singing in English, though she wasn’t and then I kept wishing that she had sung this in English. This was a welcome relief after the mediocrity of the previous track.

The next track on the album is D-O-U-B-L-E~interlude. double has some pretty pointless interludes, but this is one of the worst. double spells her name over a cliche rnb beat, that’s it.

The next track on the album is the mid-tempo Call Me. This song is just forgettable. The arrangement is synth heavy, borderline electronica and just made no sense and sounded way to generic. double keeps her tones high and seems to repeat the same thing over and over: ‘call me if your single’ what? I mean I don’t recall hearing any verses, at all. The backing vocals were torturous and this song is just a train wreck of mediocrity.

The second to last track on the album is the underwhelming THE LOVE ON FIRE. I want to say up-tempo, but the song leans more towards mid-tempo. Is double talking in Spanish at the start of the song? That was interesting and a bit sexy. This song however is neither. The arrangement is some sort of flute or wind instrument that seems very uninspired so it makes the entire arrangement sound flat and I’m certain that wasn’t the intention. double does nothing really with her vocals and sings this song in the same tired tone throughout at like the same pace. I couldn’t even pretend to be interested in this song, it offers nothing.

The last track on the album is Run Away Love feat. Lupe Fiasco. I like Lupe Fiasco, he’s one of the few rappers who talk about relevant issues and are creative music wise, but I don’t like him in this song. The arrangement is forgettable at best and played rather limply. I don’t like how double’s vocals offered nothing and then strained during the chorus, it was almost unbelievable. Lupe’s part was a bit half-assed, I honestly didn’t care about anything he was saying and was glad when this boring song finally ended. Ah, what a weak album closer.

-GRADE: B-
Rating: ** stars

double’s fifth album Reflex was all right, but I think her last two albums were better. I don’t know, I don’t expect much from double but what I get, she plays it pretty safe and doesn’t offer anything new or different. I hope this assessment changes with her next album or single. This album had some nice tracks on it regardless, the stand-outs being: Reflex, This close and WHY DO YOU GO? for obvious reasons. Reflex was a lot better than my last album review of her self-titled album double, but its still a pretty weak offering.

2 Responses to “DOUBLE [Reflex] (Fifth Album)”

  1. wjohns Says:

    i’m listening to that last track now ‘run away love’ with lupe. i agree with you, it’s pretty bad but i do however like double’s vocals in it but she sounds as if she trying too hard for voice sound like that which came off as a little fake.

    • memoriesoflove Says:

      i remember when she released her ‘collaboration’ album, the only ones i recall liking is the song they did with the heartdales and ‘black diamond’ with namie amuro.


Leave a Reply

