Faye Wong [Everything] (Second Album)

February 11, 2009

Tip of the Eiffel Tower
Everything
Roaming
Can You Hold Me Tight?
Competition Of Wits
My Loneliness
Crying Wall
In A Flash
Upstream
Tip of the Eiffel Tower

The album starts off with the lovely Paris Eiffel Tower Tip. Ah, this is a really nice song and though I much prefer that albums start off with a bang, this was certainly welcome. The arrangement is very smooth, like glass. It just plays, and though its so simple it really carries this track. Faye’s vocals were lovely, she just brought out the romantic atmosphere of this song, especially during the chorus. This song fills you with an adept feeling of love and really puts a warm smile on your face.

The next track on the album is the familiar Everything. I truly believe that this song is a remake, but I don’t know why I keep thinking its one of a Toni Braxton song. This track took a minute to grow on me, but I really do love it now. My mom likes this song also, though she knows someone else sung it first, but she doesn’t quite know who either. I really don’t care, because Faye certainly did this song justice. I loved the saxophone, it fit so perfectly. I’ve also seen the video to this, its quite sexed up which was shocking to me, because I was wondering why they would feel the need to market Faye in such a way. Its no secret that she’s gorgeous, but she really doesn’t need to flaunt it to sell and be relevant. Ah, she definitely proved that.

The next track on the album is the emotional Roaming. Faye has so many songs that’s its no wonder some of them get swept under the rug, this is definitely one of those tracks. I believe I heard an electric guitar in the arrangement, very fitting and dramatic. Faye’s vocals were great, the chorus was the high light and I absolutely love when she gets into it towards the middle half and end of the song. It really absorbed me; her ad-libs were on point as well.

The next track on the album is the down-tempo Can You Hold Me Tight?. I didn’t get a very romantic vibe from this song, despite the title, it just came across as very lonely to me. The arrangement was pretty unique, I believe it was the flute, though I’m not really sure it is some sort of wind instrument. It was really nice, but I’m not sure it went with the song. Faye’s vocals were gorgeous, she didn’t sound sad, just a bit unfulfilled. This track doesn’t really stand out, but its a good song.

The next track on the album is the rather assertive Competition Of Wits. I don’t really get this song, but I like it. The arrangement is just there to give the song something to stand on, its nothing interesting really and plays like air. Faye’s vocals are strong in this; it seems almost self-empowering, because the way she sings this song, especially the chorus just really seems to pound the words into you. I mean this track isn’t really all that interesting, but its flow is intriguing and I like that.

The next track on the album brings the pace down a little more with My Loneliness. This song is rather quiet and slow, but it surely is a good listen. I really liked the saxophone in the arrangement, it brought such depth an atmosphere to this song and just made me think of an romantic, yet tragic and short lived love. Faye’s vocals compliment the music perfectly, her voice is so soft, nearly breathless during the verses and we know she’s only building up the suspense. The chorus brings in the longing and it just really makes this song stick.

The next track on the album keeps the down-tempo’s coming with Crying Wall. This song is a bit like the previous track, where nothing is really going on and its far too quiet to really stand-out. I however liked the flow of this song and Faye’s sincere vocal performance. I tend to go for tracks like this.

The next track on the album is the slow-paced In A Flash. This is a nice song, despite it not really doing much. The arrangement is very simple, but fitting. Faye’s vocals are calm and sure and she sings this song in such a casual and soft way, it just absorbs you with its loveliness.

The second to last song on the album is the half and half Upstream. This is not a bad song, but its just something about it that just doesn’t sit right with me. The arrangement is nice, I really like it and it somewhat gives me the feeling of water as the title reflects. Faye’s vocals were good as well, because when are they not? Its just the verses seem to swim by without being retained and the chorus is just weak. I don’t know, I just wasn’t feeling this track despite it not being half bad.

The album ends with the outro Tip of the Eiffel Tower. Just a short instrumental of the original song. I don’t quite get why she chose to end the album in this way.

-GRADE: B-
Rating: ** stars

Faye Wong’s second album Everything is quite unmemorable. This has never been an album from Faye that I have particularly paid very much attention to, though in truth she has so many albums that its hard to keep up with them anyways. This album played like lukewarm water and even Faye’s lovely vocal performances couldn’t save this album from being simply underwhelming. The stand-out track is Everything because its most likely the only song you’ll remember once the last track fades. The others are just way too safe and predictable. I’ll make an exception for Tip of the Eiffel Tower though, that’s a good track. Everything is your typical Faye Wong fare: great vocals, simple beats all around safe album. I gave it a B- only because the tracks played nice, even if they don’t stand out at all.

2 Responses to “Faye Wong [Everything] (Second Album)”

  1. wjohns Says:

    I like this album; everything is my favorite song from here🙂

    • memoriesoflove Says:

      This was a pretty good album, and that’s my mom’s favorite song on that album (and Faye Wong in general) on the album.


Leave a Reply

