Heartsdales [Super Star] (Third Album)

February 18, 2009

Intro~the eclipse~
I See You
Shining
Super Star
We Love The Music
Rum Interlude/Hip Hop Barbie
Darlin’ Darlin’ feat. ZANE (three NATION)
Bailamos?
LOVE & JOY
Jewels Interlude/Gangsta CHIC
GET DRUNK feat. Mummy-D (RHYMESTER)
Sister Sister
Paradise feat. Kato Miliyah
Color of Love
fantasy

The album starts off with Intro~the eclipse~. Its a whole bunch of synth noise, that sounds pretty psychedelic. Brief, boring, forgettable.

The first full track on the album is I See You. This song is pretty bland, but I still like how cute and fun it is. The arrangement is typical for a song like this, a bit poppy as well. I made out Jewel, I really don’t know about Rum. They both carried this song though, Jewel moreso. The arrangement is the best part, but after a while it gets a bit stale and a tad bit annoying, because of how cutesy its sung. I didn’t like the whole twist to the ‘biggie biggie biggie can’t you see, sometimes your love just hypnotize me and i just love your flashy ways, this is why they broke and you’re so great’ i don’t know about that last line, but that’s what I think it says (too lazy to look up the lyrics). I mean it fit in with the whole flow of the song, but it just seemed so random at the same time. This is an all right start to the album.

The next track keeps the fun and cute coming with Shining. This song is a lot more interesting and engaging than the previous and also a bit more clear. The arrangement was pure poppy fun, not an ounce of rnb. It sounded a bit lively, though it makes me think of graffiti. I noticed a bit of disk-scratching as well (ah, a bit of hip-hop was thrown in though…). I really liked how they both seemed to really be into the song and having a good time, especially during the chorus, though Jewel’s distinct voice stood out the most. This song also plays longer than it should, I actually thought it would never end at one point.

The next track on the album is the kiddy bop Super Star. This song is really quite lame, I’m almost speechless. The arrangement sounds so juvenile and Kidz Bop that I want to puke. The vocals seem to clash with the arrangement because they sound so serious, yet if you listen to the words it all seems to fall into place, I mean ‘super duper?’ come on.

The next track on the album is the lame We Love The Music. I was more than a little relieved when this song ended. I mean it had potential in the beginning and then fell off when the first verse started. The arrangement is pretty much the same I’ve been hearing with a bit of disc-scratching, I sat unimpressed with it. The verses are forgettable. The chorus stands out a bit, but it just sounds so corny that I couldn’t really be bothered with it, plus the line: ‘music, makes the people, come together, yeah!’ from Madonna’s MUSIC kept going through my head and I really loathe that song.

The next track on the album is Rum Interlude/Hip Hop Barbie. This was twenty-four seconds of my life I’ll never get back.

The next track on the album is the light Darlin’ Darlin’ feat. ZANE. This song makes me think of a more tamer version of CANDY POP, a lot more tamer version. I was surprised that I actually got into this track, since it seems so pop and nauseating, but they really pulled this off. ZANE (oh why did I think of Lil’ Zane? where is he anyways? the last time i heard or seen him was in the hardball video years ago…), was a pretty good addition to the song, he blended in well, shockingly: ‘i really wanna be your boyfriend’ cute!

The next track on the album is the mid-tempo Bailamos?. We go from a pretty good song to a not so good song. I wonder if its routine for female J artists to come out with at least one Spanish oriented song? I mean it isn’t a problem, but I do wish they’d stop being so cliche and be more true to it like Shimatani Hitomi. I mean this song is generic, cliche-ness from the vocal performances (chorus, really) right down to the arrangement. I’ll give it points for managing to be a little fun, but I don’t really care for it.

The next track on the album is the feel-good LOVE & JOY. Wow, this was a rather interesting song and they referenced a lot of good songs, the one standing out the most, well to me, being the: ‘what a mighty good man’ part from the old nineties jam of the same name with Salt ‘n Pepa feat. En Vogue. The arrangement was a whole bunch of catchy beeps, but it just worked so well, kept the song engaging and I enjoyed it. Jewel and Rum did there thang and really made this song quite a joy to listen too. This is quite possibly the stand-out track on the album.

The next track on the album is Jewels Interlude/Gangsta CHIC. This was a lot more interesting than Rum’s, but still a waste of a track.

The next track takes a break from the pop with GET DRUNK feat. Mummy-D (RHYMESTER). This is the first full-blown rnb and hip-hop track on the album and though that was somewhat of a welcome relief this song is ultimately forgettable. The arrangement is typical and uninteresting. I don’t recall hearing Rum, which was strange. I heard Jewel though and her: ‘i’m like m&m’s, melts in ya’ mouth not in ya’ hand’ (sigh). Mummy-D’s rapping voice did go with the whole flow of the song, but I barely paid attention to his parts. This song isn’t bad, the chorus is actually pretty engaging, but I don’t really care for it.

The next track on the album is the slightly mid-tempo Sister Sister. This song is a bit on the rnb side, but its strangely not all that interesting. I mean the arrangement does only what it should and though the verses were OK, I hardly cared for them. The chorus however is pretty good though.

The next track on the album is Paradise feat. Kato Miliyah. This song is pretty forgettable. The arrangement is a poppy mass of unmemorable-ness and the verses were pretty hit or miss, uninteresting as well. The chorus should have saved this song, but I don’t really like the flow of it. This track is rather annoying.

The second to last track on the album is the smooth Color of Love. I don’t think I too much paid attention to this song when I first listened to this album, because this song is kind a good. Its heavy on the rnb and I had no problem with that. The rapping was pretty sparse, but fitting. The chorus was the best part. This song doesn’t stand out, but its a nice listen.

The last track on the album is the rather lame fantasy. Ugh. This song wouldn’t have been so much fail if it hadn’t of been executed in such a corny way. They sample in or reference the Naughty By Nature hit, O.P.P. so I was unfortunately bombarded with: ‘you down with fantasy? yeah you know me!’ … it was just painful. This is such a weak ending to the album, seriously.

-GRADE: C
Rating: * star

Heartsdale’s third album Super Star is even more underwhelming of a listen than Sugar Shine. The dominant sound on this album is pop and that’s not a problem, but a lot of the songs are pretty generic with only the catchy chorus’ standing out. A couple of rnb and hip-hop tracks bled through, but in all truth, I’d listen to ‘i see you’ over ‘color of love’ any day. Super Star has a few good tracks though, but nothing that really stands out or is too memorable. I’m starting not to care much about their retirement as a duo, because their albums aren’t really all that impressive, here’s to hoping the last one sent them out with a bang.

Leave a Reply

