Big Bang [Remember] (Second Korean Album)

February 21, 2009

Everyone Scream (Intro)
Oh, Ah, Oh (오, 아, 오)
Sunset Glow (붉은 노을)
Sparkling Sparkling (Banjjak Banjjak, 반짝반짝)
Strong Baby (Seung Ri Solo)
Wonderful
멍청한 사랑 (Foolish Love)
Haru Haru (Acoustic Version)
거짓말 (Remix) (Lies)
마지막 인사 (Remix) (Last Greeting)
Remember (Korean Version)

The album starts off with Everyone Scream (Intro). This is a pretty nice interlude. I liked the disc-scratching at the beginning an both TOP and G-Dragon’s parts, though that could be because I only really heard them. This doesn’t play like an interlude at all though.

The next track on the album is the breezy Oh, Ah, Oh (오, 아, 오). This song has a rather suggestive title, but that isn’t the songs intention at all. This is a cute track, that has that experimental flare the guys of Big Bang have suddenly become so fond of. I actually like it though, it adds such a unique twist to there music. This is a feel-good song, with an engaging arrangement and good vocal performance all around. I definitely loved the ‘be, bo, bu…’ yeah, type parts.

The next track on the album is the refreshing Sunset Glow (붉은 노을). I’m still not sure if I like this song completely or not, but I do like how I thought it was going to be a ballad and it turned out to be  a bit more techno-ish around about the mid-tempo range. The arrangement is engaging and for some reason I kept thinking of beaches and the color orange while listening to this, it also sounds like a great piece to open a concert with. I’ve always liked G-Dragon’s rap voice, but TOP has grown on me as well, they blended in nicely. I of course like the chorus the most.

The next track on the album continues the mid-tempo, techno-ish tunes with Sparkling Sparkling (Banjjak Banjjak, 반짝반짝). This isn’t a bad song, it has an interesting flow about it, but while it was playing I honestly hardly cared and didn’t really pay attention to it. The arrangement doesn’t really sound any different, still has that electro flare to it. I haven’t been listening to Big Bang for long, so I honestly can’t tell their voices apart, singing wise, but all sounded good. I’m not saying the track isn’t good, its all right, but its just not one I’d find myself listening to again and actually enjoying.

The next track on the album is the only solo Strong Baby. Ah, the baby of the group Seung Ri has decided to temporarily go solo and this is the result of it. While he’s no Tae Yang, I must say this song is pretty hot, well when he starts talking. The arrangement is cliche, but pretty addicting. The clap and snap beat throughout was a nice touch. I think Seung Ri has a nice voice, but Tae Yang and Dae Sung still have him beat. This is an all right track, I enjoyed it.

The next track on the album is Wonderful. I really like this song, even though it does nothing to separate itself and sounds like every other song on here. I like the energy I guess; the rapping was good and so were the vocals especially during the chorus.

The next track on the album is the somewhat down-tempo 멍청한 사랑 (Foolish Love). This song is pretty OK, though it doesn’t pop out at you like some of the other songs on here. The arrangement I can’t really comment on, because I can’t really remember it fully, but it was synth of course and went with the flow of the song. The vocal performances were pretty good, no one stood out, but they still did a decent job. This is an all right track.

The next track on the album is the rather sad Haru Haru (Acoustic Version). This is a good song and I liked the video as well. This is a good version of the original, definitely.

The next track on the album is 거짓말 (Remix) (Lies). This is a pretty good remix, though I think that’s because I can’t really tell the difference between this and the original song. It plays the same to me, so I don’t see what the point of the remix is. This is such a good song either way and is the reason why I decided to give Big Bang another shot on my blog. The rap segments were great, the vocal performances were spot on, I really love the: ‘i’m so sorry, but i love you!’ of the chorus. The beat is addictive and dramatic at the same time and the video was creative. G-Dragon is quite the actor. Great song.

The second to last track on the album is 마지막 인사 (Remix) (Last Greeting). Hmm? I don’t really see the difference with this remix as well, though I find that I enjoy this song a whole lot more this time around than I did when I first listened to it. Though that could be because with a title like, ‘last farewell’ you expect the song to be more down-tempo or ballad-y. Nice infectious beat and really good vocals.

The last track on the album is the rnb, yet synth laced Remember (Korean Version). This is a really good song. I thought the beat stood out the most, pretty infectious. They boast such good vocal performances as well, definitely drew me into the song. Nice album closer.

-GRADE: A
Rating: *** stars

Big Bang’s second Korean album Remember was quite good, I’m almost speechless. I mean I’ve always only ever liked like a handful of their songs, and I didn’t too much care for them music-wise and then I listened to ‘lies’ and from there ‘haru haru’ and I just thought, maybe I should give them another go. I’m really glad I did. I guess I like this new fusion of hip-hop and pop and techno and whatever else thing they got going on now, it really makes their music pop out more. I must say they have some good harmonization going on as well as vocal prowess I was really impressed, and maybe they won’t be able to top DBSK in that department, because JaeJoong and Junsu’s voices just own, but as far as rapping goes, they would certainly get my vote over the Dong Bang boys. I’ve always like G-Dragon’s rap voice, he’s quite good. TOP it took a while for his gritty and harsh rap voice to grow on me, but I really like it now and kind a get excited every time I hear it. I don’t think the change up of my three favorite songs was necessary, but they were good so all is forgiven. Remember was a good album, and I’d recommended it to anyone whose thinking about getting into them, you won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

