Megumi Hayashibara [Plenty of Grit / Revolution] (45th Single)

February 22, 2009

Plenty of Grit
Revolution

Megumi Hayashibara’s 45th single starts off with the a-side Plenty of Grit. This is a rather odd title, but the song is definitely good. Its a bit more on the experimental side in concerns with Megumi, who always plays it rather safe. I haven’t listened through the entirety of her albums, but so far I haven’t heard anything quite like this, not even on Center Color. Its nothing extreme, but I do like its somewhat frenzied pace as well as Megumi’s vocal performance, she really kept up and made this song quite the interesting listen. I mean its not a song I would listen to just to listen to it, but its pretty good for an a-side, though it doesn’t sound much like an anime opening or maybe that’s just me?

The second track on the single is its second a-side Revolution. This keeps the up-tempo tracks coming, but its pretty mild compared to the first a-side. I don’t know this track is pretty hit or miss. It still retains the edge of the first a-side, but less experimental, techno-ish sounding and more rock-ish, which I liked. Megumi’s vocal performance was also decent for a track like this, but it offers nothing really. I don’t know, its hard not to like a Megumi song, because she brings the charm. This is an all right track, sounds more like an a-side than ‘plenty of grit’ but also less interesting than said song.

-GRADE: B
Rating: ** stars

Megumi Hayashibara’s 45th single Plenty of Grit / Revolution is an all right single, but I must say I did like A Happy Life more, but that’s probably because of my character. I thought both songs were interesting and good listens in their own right, but at the end of the day… they’re pretty so-so.

Leave a Reply

