Kanon [Brand New Breeze] (5th Single)

March 3, 2009

Brand New Breeze
The Power

Kanon’s 5th single starts off with the a-side Brand New Breeze. This is a hard song to review and I’m tempted to listen to it a third time. When the song first started I had to admit, I really wasn’t all that interested in it, but as it progressed it drew me in and actually gives one the feeling of flying through the skies. The arrangement is very airy, so it does make you think of a gentle breeze just washing over you. I mean its not noticeable, but you know its there. Kanon’s vocals are quite nice, especially when she gets to the chorus, it sounds almost like she’s singing in opera. This track isn’t very stand-out, but the song is pretty good.

The next track on the single is its b-side The Power. This track is similar to the a-side, only you’d really have to be the type of person who likes there music slow and inspiring, otherwise this song might just bore you to tears. I happen to be one of those people, so the pace didn’t bother me. I also really liked the backing vocals, really made the song stand-out a little.

-GRADE: B
Rating: ** stars

Kanon’s 5th single Brand New Breeze was pretty much what I expected it to be, especially after reading up on her a little. I like the fact that both songs are quite inspiring, and leaves you with a good feeling, despite not being all that interesting and borderline boring.

Leave a Reply

