Morning Musume [Naichau Kamo] (38th Single)

March 15, 2009

Naichau Kamo (泣いちゃうかも, I Might Cry)
Yowamushi (弱虫, Coward)

Morning Musume’s 38th single starts off with the a-side Naichau Kamo (泣いちゃうかも, I Might Cry). The first time I listened to this song it was while pretending to watch the video, and well it seemed OK to me then, but now its nearly unbearable. I don’t know, maybe it stems from the fact that I’m not much of a Momusu fan or a H!P fan for that matter, but this song just kind a made me uneasy and cringe while I was listening to it. The arrangement sounds rather lukewarm, or better yet like video game music, it really does sound like video game music to me. The vocal performances were just not good, some were high and nasally and then others were strained and it was just all very annoying. The only interesting part of this song was the: ‘kamo, kamo, kamo!’ of the chorus, but even that lost its appeal after a while. This is a pretty weak a-side.

The next track on the single is its b-side Yowamushi (弱虫, Coward). Wow… this song was boring. It had the potential to be a bit better than the a-side, but I found sooner rather than later, that I care even less for this track. The arrangement was pretty interesting, sounded rather mysterious and then I kind a forgot all about it as the song progressed. The vocal performances were low, which I can understand, but the uninspired way in which everyone was singing just made the song quite the dull listen. This song seems to go on for forever too and that just makes it all the more dull.

-GRADE: D
Rating: * star

Morning Musume’s 38th single Naichau Kamo was pretty awful. I mean I really didn’t like this single at all. The a-side was annoying and the b-side was boring. I’m just glad they’re finally putting out another album, though I don’t think I’ll enjoy it, because I haven’t been too enthused with the singles leading up to it so far.

Leave a Reply

