Kanon [Hymm of Grace] (First Album)

March 23, 2009

Elushadai*
Gloria
Fuyu ~Shiki Yori~
The water is wide
Scarborough Fair
Anata no Koe ni Kokoro wa Hikaru
Calling you
Ave Maria (Schubert)
Ave Maria (Kanon)
Loving Grace
The Light
PIE IESU

The album starts off with the intro song Elushadai. I admit I was a bit exasperated when this first started, but as I listened I found myself actually smiling. This is such a gorgeous song and I really wish she would have stretched it out into a full track, her vocals are quite lovely.

The next track on the album is Gloria. I’ve always had a soft spot for songs with names as the title, they really just speak to me and I’m not sure why, but it could be because they always come across as so personal to me. The arrangement was very natural, which was appropriate, since it enhanced Kanon’s voice and didn’t detract from it. Kanon’s vocals were gorgeous, she really has such a nice tone, but she sung this song in full English an that made her sound a bit awkward. This is still a good track though, because she certainly pulled it off.

The next track on the album is basically a two-minute interlude. Fuyu ~Shiki Yori~ consists of Kanon singing semi opera like over a music box melody… boring.

The next track on the album is the tranquil The water is wide. I can not even count how many times I listened to this song, because it was so tedious that every time it clicked off I could not for the life of me remember it. The arrangement is very flowing, that’s the best word I can use to describe it, it was nice as were Kanon’s vocals. At the same time though I just can not even pretend to like this song, let alone bother to.

The next track on the album is another interlude Scarborough Fair. Kanon displays some great singing chops in this track, which makes me a little disappointed that its only an interlude, though in truth I guess its better off that way. It still seems like a waste to me.

The next track on the album is the rather sad Anata no Koe ni Kokoro wa Hikaru. It took a few seconds for me to warm up to this song, but I’m glad I did, because its quite beautiful. The arrangement is gorgeous and just oozes a melancholy that makes your heart ache. Kanon’s vocal performance only brings on more of the heart break, with her lovely lilting opera-ish tones. It gives off such a feeling of love and longing that will never fade or go away.

The next track on the album is the way down-tempo Calling you. I’m on the fence with this song, because while it was playing I found myself hardly paying attention to it, because it seemed very plain to me. The arrangement is practically none existent and sounds like someone blowing air out of there mouth (or maybe it just sounded like that to me?) Kanon’s vocal performance was nice, but I don’t recall her saying anything but, ‘calling you’ in a sort of whisper wail, and it was just pretty dull, despite how pretty her voice sounded. Its not a bad song, but its just doesn’t really do much, maybe that was the intention, but it just does nothing for me.

The next track on the album is the poignant Ave Maria (Schubert). This would definitely be in the like top five of most covered songs. Its one of the saddest, yet enlightening songs I have ever heard and sung right, in the right moment, by the right person it could without a doubt bring you to your knees. Its a rather powerful song. Kanon’s take on it was nice, she gave a good vocal performance, however I found myself mostly bored.

The next track on the album is Ave Maria (Kanon). This is I suppose her take on it and she made it less haunting and more ethereal. Its a nice rendition of it, if mostly because Kanon has an incredibly beautiful voice, but I honestly don’t care for it. Plus, I don’t like how it comes right after the original.

The next track on the album is the lullaby-esque Loving Grace. This is definitely one of those songs that just passes over me, but I liked the soothing piano arrangement and Kanon’s rather lovely, though long-winded vocal performance. This song also seems religious to me, since she sings ‘my savior’ at one point.

The second to last track on the album is the airy The Light. Umm… I’m actually trying to figure out what I was just listening to. This song is so forgettable, its amazing. It consists of a light beat that makes you well… think of the light. Kanon’s vocals are nice, but all she says is ‘i see the light’ or well that’s all I heard. Its a pretty boring and over my head track.

The last track on the album is PIE IESU. This song is pretty pass for me as well, but I like the classical-ness of the piano and Kanon gave a rather strong opera-ish vocal performance. It was a decent end to the album and a nice listen.

-GRADE: C-/D+
Rating: * star

Kanon’s first album Hymm of Grace is really boring. I’m wondering if I even want to continue reviewing her music and this is just so shocking to me, because her voice is absolutely beautiful. I thought I was going to adore this album, because I actually quite love classical music, believe it or not, but this bored me to tears. I only really liked Gloria and Anata no Koe ni Kokoro wa Hikaru. I’ve never listened to her music before, and stumbled onto her by chance, but this is the first time that I’ve ever listened to an artist that I haven’t already been listening to for a while and thought I would like her music, only to come out gravely disappointed. I hope her other three albums and her mini albums are much better than this, I’d hate to think all those classical music haters are right about this genre of music being boring. Its not… just this particular album.

Leave a Reply

