Skip Beat! [Review/Rant]

April 1, 2009

I am a bit displeased… no, no… I am very displeased. 25 episodes!? Are they honestly going to just end a 21 in counting volume manga at 25 episodes!? Tsubasa Chronicle went on for 52 with a movie and two OAV’s so I’m hoping that this is just the end of the first season, because they can not possible end it like this. I mean how anti-climactic! What is to become of Kyoko in her budding actress career? Is Ren going to finally nail Katsuki? What about their friendship and possible relationship? What about… Sho? And where the hell is Moko!? What’s become of her? Ah, they just can’t end it like this. I fell in love with this series during Christmas break and its just tearing me a part to learn that its ended in such an unfinished and cliche’d way. WTH?

I mean seriously if they were going to end it at 25 episodes they need not have changed the original theme song. I mean the second wasn’t bad, but the first was just so Skip Beat! and Kyoko.  The series started out on a strong note, I fell instantly in love with Kyoko when she cut off her hair and dyed it reddish-orange, because she just reminded me so much of myself, especially considering her hatred towards the callous Sho and in regards to how he destroyed her capability to love.

Kyoko was so extreme! I just loved her antics, they always brought a smile to my face and her interactions with Ren and Moko were just gold. This was shaping up to be a good series. Then for some reason they start focusing more on her and Ren, which wasn’t a problem, but it all just seemed to come out of nowhere. It seemed rushed and forced and not genuine and intriguing like it was in the beginning. Moko falls to the wayside for some reason and speaking of her, even her and Kyoko’s sudden best-friendship seemed to come out of nowhere, like it just didn’t seem fleshed out properly to me, it seemed to just… happen?

I also would like to know what happened to the whole Love Me plot? It was so ridiculous in the most funny of ways. I was kind a entertaining the thought of the President putting Ren in there with Kyoko and Moko (sigh).

The Dark Moon Arc (which isn’t concluded) is when things start to fall a part and my unwavering interest in this show started to well… wane. I mean I liked the premise, but really, unlike the whole Kyoko getting dolled up to upstage that bratty actress, or even when she played the Angel falling into darkness for Sho’s video shoot… it all just seemed so contrived. I mean everyone was taking everything so seriously and I just couldn’t for the life of me buy into it. I mean honestly old lady who played the original Mio… get over it (she does eventually, but it still took too long in my opinion).

Also, what the heck was with this ‘Ren can’t show love properly’ bull? I mean I understand that he’s never been in love, but for him to be such a critically acclaimed and well respected actor how can he not do the one thing that he is good at, which is act? I mean I have to really love this person in order for me to act like I love this person? It didn’t make any sense. I mean, Kyoko’s heart has been completely closed off thanks to Sho, but she can still pull off the emotion which is love, though I guess that could be because she did love once, even if it was somewhat one-sided. I don’t know, I mean I can understand how this could affect him in terms of Kyoko, but you’re acting for crying out loud, act like you freaking love her! I mean give me a break.

The last episodes dealt with Ren’s inability to love in real life, which indirectly bleeds into his ability to act on screen, so its Kyoko to the rescue! Though by this point all her exaggerations an antics have become tiring. I mean it was enjoyable in the beginning, but honestly can we be serious for just one second and not get pointlessly off track? Anyways, Ren realizes that he’s in love, well falling in love with Kyoko, because the sensation of her makes him happy, so it must be love. The only thing that is holding him back is the fact that she’s a High School student (like that matters) and of course Kyoko is clueless to the fact that its her who Ren is falling for, so she tells him to go for it.

Ren realizes that maybe he should… nail this Katsuki character.

Kyoko gives a self-inspired speech at the end, we see all the characters from the series so far (though I can’t recall if I saw Moko or not…) and it ends with Ren pausing in shock when he sees Kyoko sitting. Kyoko gets up, looks in his direction and beams at him. THE END!

THEY CAN’T END IT LIKE THIS, I AM SO UNSATISFIED!  PLEASE PUT OUT A SECOND SEASON, I HAVE TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS! I MEAN I KNOW I CAN JUST READ THE MANGA, WHICH I’VE BEEN DOING LATELY, BUT STILL I WANT TO SEE THEM IN ACTION AS WELL!!!!

I hope Michiko to Hatchin has a better ending…

-GRADE: B

Leave a Reply

