melody. [READY TO GO!] (Third Album)

April 4, 2009

Finding My Road
with you
Love Story
All For Love
HOPE
Glory of Love
READY TO GO!
ONE DAY
Lovin’ U
REAL ME
ALL I DO
Shine
Dangerous

The album starts off with Finding My Road. I don’t know, I use to like this song, but I don’t too much like it this time around. I guess its up-tempo, it does give you this refreshing type of feeling and the arrangement gave off the feeling of self-empowerment. melody.’s vocals weren’t very engaging in this, sometimes she sounded muffled and sometimes she was straining which made the song sound very awkward. I mean its not a bad song, I just really don’t like the flow of it, despite the chorus being mildly catchy.

The next track on the album slows it down with with you. This is a pretty tedious song, which is strange because I’ve always rather liked it. The arrangement is limp, it sounds like wind struggling to blow on a hot day. I hardly noticed it at all. melody.’s vocal performance was also pretty stagnant, it was almost like she didn’t even care, because her vocals more or less bored me.

The next track on the album is the down-tempo Love Story. I’ve always rather liked this song, but it is a bit underwhelming. The arrangement is nice an soothing, gives off a lonely atmosphere, but the sheer love of it shines through. melody.’s vocal performance was nice, but some strain-age did come through. This is an all right ballad, she’s had better though.

The next track on the album is All For Love. This is a pretty corny song, but for some reason I like it. The arrangement sounds typical and watered down, nothing interesting, but its suits the song. melody.’s vocals are decent, but she doesn’t do much and it becomes a pretty hit or miss performance. I liked the chorus. This track is an all right listen, despite the cheese factor.

The next track on the album is the smooth HOPE. This song is really, dare I say it? Cool. I mean it really is. I was uninterested at the beginning, but eventually as the song progressed I found myself kind a into it. The arrangement is pretty synthy, borderline techno, but it plays so smooth-like, that you hardly notice, but you’re aware of it. It gives off the feeling of the night life, mysterious and dangerous. melody.’s vocals reflected the arrangement, as to where she sounded a bit monotonous which added a lot of flare to this track. Nice.

The next track on the album is the soap-opera-ish Glory of Love. When I saw this title I immediately thought of ‘gift of love’ and kind a groaned a little. The two songs are a like in a sense, but the difference lies in the fact that ‘gift of love’ is an intolerable listen of boredom, this on the other hand is all right, but rather cheesy. I don’t know, the arrangement is generic and melody.’s vocals seem rather placating, but I did like the flow and its a sweet song. Hmm? I think I’m getting soft.

The next track on the album is the feel good READY TO GO!. I actually use to really dislike this song and I’m not really sure why I like it so much now, but it could be because once you get past the generic-ness of it, its actually a pretty catchy track. Its a dance club beat definitely and melody.’s vocals were decent and somewhat engaging. The chorus is the high light.

The next track on the album brings the pace back down with ONE DAY. This song is just like ‘glory of love’ in terms of cheesiness, but I still like it. I don’t know, its slow-paced arrangement wise and vocal wise and melody. doesn’t really do much in either department, but I don’t know, I just like the flow. Also, I tend to be biased when it comes to her songs sung fully in English.

The next track on the album is the rather lame Lovin’ U. I’m quite sure this is the first time I’ve ever not liked this song, or maybe I just finally sat down an actually listened to it. The arrangement is pretty generic and throwaway, I didn’t really care about it at all and pretty much ignored it. melody.’s vocals were pretty stale, it was all just weird, I didn’t really connect with her at all. The song just flew over my head. Its not bad, but its not good either.

The next track on the album is the somewhat suspenseful REAL ME. This song isn’t really all that interesting, but it has enough going for it to keep my attention. I like how seemingly dramatic the arrangement is and melody.’s vocal performance was pretty good.

The next track on the album is the dull ALL I DO. Ah, this song had the potential to be all right, but it ended up being incredibly boring and uninspired. The arrangement was rather stagnant, I think it was the piano, but honestly I don’t even care. melody.’s vocal performance was like I said uninspired and awkward. Forgettable.

The second to last track on the album ups to the pace to about mid-tempo with Shine. This song it pretty up-beat in a not very fast way. The arrangement is a bit sparkly and typical, nothing interesting or that stands out, but it fits. melody.’s vocals were pretty nice, though it doesn’t really stand out either. This is an OK track, if only because its one of those self-empowering type songs.

The last track on the album is the mediocre Dangerous. The last time I listened to this song I actually think I liked it. The arrangement is just generic throwaway club trash, it just sounded so watered down and uninteresting. melody.’s vocals sound awkward once again, because for some reason they don’t stay consistent with the music, I would say she sounds bored, but her vocals are so flat who can tell? This is a rather weak album closer.

-GRADE: C
Rating: * star

melody.’s third album READY TO GO! was quite the mediocre listen. I mean, it really was. The first time I listened to this album, I hated it and dubbed it her worst album to date, then I gave it another listen, because I had felt that maybe I was a little harsh the first time around; it played a bit better and I thought that maybe it isn’t as bad as her debut album Sincerely… listening to it again, I’m starting to think it is. I really tried to give this album the benefit of the doubt, but I honestly can’t. The arrangements/beats are so throwaway and generic and watered down that its really quite comical, then on top of that melody. sounds so uninspired and awkward on practically every track, because she never seems to keep pace or stay on beat and it makes even the songs I did like such as ‘all for love’ and ‘shine’ sound uninteresting. I mean this plays like some discarded soundtrack from some dance movie no one really cared about. READY TO GO! I don’t know, I have such a love hate relationship with this album, but at the end of the day, its just not a good album and in my opinion its her weakest. Thank goodness for Lei Aloha.

Leave a Reply

