Shimatani Hitomi [SMILES] (30th Single)

April 7, 2009

SMILES
Stay with me

Shimatani Hitomi’s 30th single starts off with the a-side SMILES. When I first heard this song I wasn’t too impressed with it, hearing it again on the single, I’m still not impressed, but its an all right song. I like the casual-ness of the guitar in the arrangement, it does manage to create a lot of atmosphere and reflects the video. Shimatani’s vocals are nice, it really sounded like she was content and that made the song a somewhat enjoyable listen. I mean it doesn’t stand out at all and plays like an insert song, but I like the calm and regular mood of it.

The next track on the single is its b-side Stay with me. This is a lot more interesting and memorable than the a-side, if only because of the pop-y and sparkly arrangement that plays so nicely in the background. Shimatani’s vocals are lovely. This is just one of those mildly catchy and rather sweet tracks that you can’t help but fall for.

-GRADE: B+
Rating: ** stars

Shimatani Hitomi’s 30th single SMILES was pretty nice, I actually found myself enjoying it a lot more than I thought I would. SMILES is not all that stand-out of an a-side, but its endearing. Stay with me is the more memorable track and a very sweet one to boot. Shimatani started this new era off on a rather safe note and it was a refreshing change from the typical Shimatani fare, but I do hope she goes back to making epic music.

Leave a Reply

