Misia [Kiss in the Sky] (Fourth Album)

April 13, 2009

眠れぬ夜は君のせい (Nemurenu Yoru wa Kimi no Sei; My sleepless nights are your fault)
over bit
Destiny’s rule
LAILA
恋唄 (Koiuta; Love song)
Don’t stop music!
Fly away
Always
風に吹かれて (Kaze ni Fukarete; Blown by the wind)
果てなく続くストーリー (Hatenaku Tsuzuku Story; Never ending continuing story)
Shining Star
太陽がいるから (Taiyou ga Iru Kara; Because there’s the sun)
飛び方を忘れた小さな鳥 (Tobikata wo Wasureta Chiisana Tori; Small bird that has forgotten how to fly)

The album starts off with the down-tempo 眠れぬ夜は君のせい (Nemurenu Yoru wa Kimi no Sei; My sleepless nights are your fault). Ah, I really love this title. You have to be a certain type of person to actually enjoy this song, otherwise you will probably be bored by it. The arrangement is rather nice, I definitely loved the piano. Misia’s vocals were pretty mild and I’m glad she didn’t over do it, it was all pretty much straight to the point. I found my interest waning a bit while listening to this (only coming back somewhat during the chorus), but all in all given time this is an all right, albeit long track.

The next track on the album is the mid-tempo over bit. This song had so much potential, because its not even a bad song, but for some reason its just very uninteresting to me and I found myself hardly paying attention to it. The arrangement sounds a bit similar to the previous track, so that threw me off a bit. Misia’s vocals were good, but I hardly cared for them and in turn failed to pull me into the song. The title is a bit odd though, I wonder what it means?

The next track on the album is the casual Destiny’s rule. This song is pretty hit or miss and definitely a hard song to review. I like it, but at the same time I don’t like it. The arrangement is pretty mellow, which is fine and actually suits the calm atmosphere of the song. Misia’s vocals are pretty good as well, she doesn’t overdo it and keeps the pace pretty light. This is a nice song, but at the same time it can go completely over your head, because it doesn’t really do much.

The next track on the album is the annoying LAILA. This song had the potential to be pretty good, but it just doesn’t quite manage it. The arrangement is pretty much just there, I hardly noticed it, but that could be because I was too busy trying to stop my head from splitting open at Misia’s rather abysmal vocal performance. I mean her vocals aren’t bad per say, I’ve heard worse, but they for some reason just really grated on my nerves in this track. Its pretty stale.

The next track on the album is the light 恋唄 (Koiuta; Love song) I actually expected this song to be a lot slower than what it was, but I’m pretty glad it didn’t go in such a typical direction. The arrangement sounded urban in a not so obvious way and was very nice on the ears. Misia’s vocals were also quite good, I loved her the most during the chorus. This is a song that I would listen to every once in a while, because its one of those songs that you get tired of, but it always (every once in a while) makes for a good listen.

The next track on the album is the hard-hitting Don’t stop music!. I’ll admit, for about 0.5 seconds I honestly thought I was going to hate this song, in the end I almost love it. The arrangement is pretty typical for a song like this, very synthy and almost sounds like a rock, electronica song, which was pretty neat and oddly fitting. Misia’s great and rather into it vocal performance was what made this song, I mean the: ‘don’t stop music, hey mr. dj’ just stays and its one of those parts to a song that you’re almost compelled to sing along too. This song also sounds like either one or two other songs that I can’t think of at the moment, but that’s mostly because of how Misia sings the chorus and the arrangement.

The next track on the album is the smooth Fly away. There’s not much I can say about this song to be truthful. The arrangement was fitting, it was rnb of course, though tweaked a bit. Misia’s vocal performance was good, because when is it not? So, all in all I liked this track and I like it even more because it was long, but didn’t seem long at all.

The next track on the album is the down-tempo Always. This is a really nice song, but like the last track there isn’t really much to say about it other than I really liked the simple piano arrangement and Misia’s genuine vocal performance. It gives off an, ‘i’ll always love you feeling’ which is quite nice and despite it being over five minutes it never felt long.

The next track on the album is the mid-tempo 風に吹かれて (Kaze ni Fukarete; Blown by the wind). This song is rather refreshing, that’s the first thing that came to my mind when it started. The constant tinkle of the melody was very nice and gave the song a very Middle Eastern flavor. I also loved Misia’s vocals in this track, the chorus is the definite highlight. It gives you this sort a free-fall type feeling, that is actually quite welcome.

The next track on the album is the down-tempo 果てなく続くストーリー (Hatenaku Tsuzuku Story; Never ending continuing story). I’ll start off by saying this is definitely a song for those of you –such as myself– who love down-tempo tracks, otherwise you’ll be bored, because the song goes nowhere and does only what it should. The arrangement is your typical weepy piano melody, but its fitting and Misia’s vocals are also good, especially during the climax. This song can become pretty dull, but if you’re a ballad whore like I am it won’t really matter.

The next track on the album is the laid-back Shining Star. Hmm? This song is pretty chill and I really like that. The arrangement is very a la Musiq Soulchild, I don’t know why, but I just love how smooth and hot summer’s day in Harlem it sounds, very mellow. Misia’s vocal performance was very calm, n-sync with the arrangement, she got into the song a bit, mostly during the chorus, but she kept the pace and made this a nice and rather endearing listen.

The next track on the album is the half and half 太陽がいるから (Taiyou ga Iru Kara; Because there’s the sun). I don’t even know, but this is just one of those songs you like, because you just like it. This is a typical Misia song, it really is. I mean a nice clean beat and a great vocal performance and good backing vocals as well, plus its long and full of soul. It seems very throw-back to the seventies and sounds almost like a disco track. I like this, but the length makes it drag a bit and I was honestly wondering when it was going to end. This is not a song I would just listen to, but every once in a while it’ll offer a good listen.

The last track on the album is the somewhat power ballad 飛び方を忘れた小さな鳥 (Tobikata wo Wasureta Chiisana Tori; Small bird that has forgotten how to fly). I sort a like this song, because its not very easy to not like a Misia song, fan or not. The arrangement is a simple, yet distinct piano melody that does its part. Misia’s vocals are good, but during the chorus it rises and even for myself whom is a huge fan of Misia’s voice, I thought the performance a bit grating. This song is pretty hit or miss, some people like me for instance really go for songs like this, others who aren’t so into ballads will find this a dull listen.

-GRADE: B
Rating: ** stars

Misia’s fourth album Kiss in the Sky was a fine album, but for it to be one of her earlier ones, I’d still listen to Ascension and Eighth World before I’d listen to this. I’m wondering if its just me, but not one song on this album really stood out, because I honestly can’t remember not one track, despite liking most of the album. It doesn’t make it a bad album, just average. Misia displayed some good vocals, though that’s nothing new. I like the title, but the album in my opinion is not one of her best. Misia is always worth listening to though, regardless.

Leave a Reply

