Shimizu Shota [My Treasure] (3rd Single)

April 13, 2009

l_p10119791211My Treasure
Picture in my Mind
Diggin On U (318 remix) feat. SIMON

Shimizu Shota’s 3rd single starts off with the a-side My Treasure. This is quite the sweet song, despite the fact that it may come off as corny. Its not as deep as ‘home’ or as emotionally felt as ‘aishiteru’, but its certainly a nice listen. I really like the sparkling arrangement, because it gives off such an innocence that is rather precious. Shimizu has such a nice voice and he does ballads so much justice and you can just feel it in his tones how much he truly cares about this other person, who to him is like a treasure, that he wants to keep close to him and protect so that they’ll always shine. This is his weakest a-side so far, but I liked it.

The next track on the single is its b-side Picture in my Mind. This suffers from the same thing that ‘miss you’ suffered from, its a nice down-tempo tune, but it just passes over you without being felt, because in all truth you just honestly don’t care. It leaves no impression what so ever and its just typical from the arrangement, right down to Shimizu’s –dare I say it?– tired vocal performance. This song is rather sweet and wistful an its all right so it may grow on me, though I wouldn’t count on it.

The last track on the single is Diggin On U (318 remix) feat. SIMON. Ah, remixes. This was pretty decent. Shimizu didn’t rap in this, I don’t think and instead left it up to SIMON who wasn’t great, but sounded a lot better than Shimizu did on the original. The song is a bit more hip-hop as opposed to rnb and Shimizu’s vocal performance was good. I like the original more, but this wasn’t a bad remix, way better than the abysmal ‘home’ remix.

-GRADE: B-
Rating: ** stars

Shimizu Shota’s 3rd single My Treasure was pretty average and isn’t as memorable as his last two singles. I think he played it a bit too safe with the a-side this time around, despite it being a nice listen. The b-side isn’t bad, but its kind a boring and unmemorable like the ‘home’ b-side was. The remix was decent.

5 Responses to “Shimizu Shota [My Treasure] (3rd Single)”

  1. wjohns Says:

    i have to disagree with you on ‘picture in my mind’ – i though that one was nice, it had a nice little pace to it and shimizu’s vocals were fine.

    • memoriesoflove Says:

      i can’t really remember the song. if i listen to it again i might like it though, since i tend to like songs i don’t like on second listens.

  2. wjohns Says:

    same here. i didn’t like ayumi’s ‘a song for xx’ album at first but after a second listen, i kinda liked it.


Leave a Reply

