Morning Musume [4th Ikimasshoi! (4th 「いきまっしょい!」; Let’s go!)] (Fourth Album)

April 14, 2009

The Peace! (Complete Version)
Ii Koto Aru Kinen no Shunkan (いいことある記念の瞬間, The Moment I Remember When Something Good Happened)
Mr. Moonlight ~Ai no Big Band~ (Long Version) (Mr. Moonlight~愛のビッグバンド~ (Long Version), Mr. Moonlight ~Love’s Big Band~)
Hajimete no Rock Concert (初めてのロックコンサート, My First Rock Concert)
Otoko Tomodachi (男友達, Guy Friend)
Souda! We’re Alive (そうだ!, That’s Right! We’re Alive)
Dekkai Uchuu ni Ai ga Aru (Album Version) (でっかい宇宙に愛がある(Album Version), There’s Love in this Great Big World)
Ikimasshoi! (いきまっしょい!, Let’s Go!)
Densha no Futari (電車の二人, Train for Two People)
Honki de Atsui Theme Song (本気で熱いテーマソング, The Seriously Passionate Theme Song)
Suki na Senpai (好きな先輩, My Senior Crush)
Renai Revolution 21 (13-nin Version) (恋愛レボリューション, Love Revolution 21)
Nanni mo Iwazu ni I Love You (なんにも言わずに, Without Saying a Word, I Love You)

The album starts off with the anthem The Peace! (Complete Version). This song is completely ridiculous and I mean that in a good and bad way. I’m sure this is quite the fun song live, because so many things are going on, from talking to singing, to rises in the arrangement and all kinds of things that would make a non-momusu fan such as myself very confused. There’s nothing wrong with that, but at the same time there seems to be no structure, maybe I’m being too much of a critic instead of just enjoying the song for what it is, but honestly what IS it, because I have no idea what’s going on. Everything seemed to just happen for no reason and I’m not exactly sure what they were going for. It just makes this track very impossible in my opinion. Energetic way to start off the album, but its just not a song that I could get down to.

The next track on the album is the light Ii Koto Aru Kinen no Shunkan (いいことある記念の瞬間, The Moment I Remember When Something Good Happened). This track was quite charming, I really enjoyed it. The arrangement is so warm and gives off such a good feeling, it also made me think of this one song I just adore, in which I can’t remember at the moment. It really makes me want an instrumental of this. The vocal performances were nice, I didn’t really have a problem with them, because the semi cute-sy vocals were appropriate for a song like this. I also really like what the title translates to and it just made me enjoy this song all the more, because it makes the song rather nostalgic, but fills you with an unexplainable gladness at the same time.

The next track on the album is the Jazzy Mr. Moonlight ~Ai no Big Band~ (Long Version) (~愛のビッグバンド~ (Long Version), Mr. Moonlight ~Love’s Big Band~). Ah, my favorite Momusu song, I just wish I wasn’t so tired, so I would have enjoyed it more. I don’t really favor the long talk at the beginning, I understand its necessary for the set-up, but it just seems tedious, it makes more sense in the video for obvious reasons. I love the arrangement, so Big Bang and Swing, really makes you want to get up an dance. I also really enjoyed the vocal performances, they really sounded like they were enjoying themselves and why not? This is a fun song: ‘mr. moonlight!’

The next track on the album is the rather dull Hajimete no Rock Concert (初めてのロックコンサート, My First Rock Concert). Umm… for a song to have ‘rock concert’ in it this is as far from rock as you’re going to get, in fact it sounded pretty pop to me. The arrangement was uninteresting and seemed to just sputter along, seriously. Whoever was singing could not have sounded more uninspired if she had tried, it just made the song a bit tedious and or boring.

The next track on the album is the around mid-tempo Otoko Tomodachi (男友達, Guy Friend). This song is a bit average, but I found that I enjoyed it a lot more than I originally thought I would (which would be not at all). The arrangement is very light and fresh and makes you give way to a warm smile. The vocal performance was all right, it wasn’t very good, but I thought she pulled it off. I really dig the chorus, yes dig.

The next track on the album is the rather infectious Souda! We’re Alive (そうだ!, That’s Right! We’re Alive). This song sounds like an anthem and listening to it from that respect, I like it quite a bit. This is such a great song to either start a concert an or tour or end one or the other with, because its so in your face, yet retains such an inspirational quality to it that is very endearing. The arrangement is typical Momusu full of activity flare, which was fitting. The vocal performances were charming and I love how everyone involved were so into the song and sounded like they had a great time.

The next track on the album is the all together Dekkai Uchuu ni Ai ga Aru (Album Version) (でっかい宇宙に愛がある(Album Version), There’s Love in this Great Big World). This is a really nice song and I found that I enjoyed it immensely. It was just something about them all singing together –to the minimal but so fitting arrangement– that just really touched me. It made me feel a little nostalgic…

The next track on the album is the exuberant Ikimasshoi! (いきまっしょい!, Let’s Go!). This was a song that took a bit to grow on me, because when it first started I honestly didn’t care all that much about it. I think its the chorus that sold me, its rather cute. I also like all the activity that seems to be going on in the background and in the arrangement.

The next track on the album is the mid-tempo Densha no Futari (電車の二人, Train for Two People). This song was pretty nice, it does nothing to jump out you, but I found myself still somewhat paying attention to it. The arrangement was suitable, even if I can’t really recall it; the vocal performances were also decent, but there was notable strain which made them sound kind a weird and amateurish. This is a nice listen though.

The next track on the album is the party-esque Honki de Atsui Theme Song (本気で熱いテーマソング, The Seriously Passionate Theme Song). I like how the song seems fun, passionate no, but if the passionate is morphed into the fun and friendly like atmosphere of the song than I get it. I mean there’s more than one way to define ‘passionate’. As is typical in Momusu and H!P songs in general is there is a lot of activity going on in the background, which works to keep the song interesting, but not in a negative and annoying way, thank goodness. The vocal performances were pretty good, I didn’t really have a problem with that department this time around.

The next track on the album is the charming Suki na Senpai (好きな先輩, My Senior Crush). Ah, I can remember those long school days in which I crushed on some guy way older than me, knowing he would never look my way. This cute track brings back so many memories. I like this song, I thought it was a nice and rather genuine listen.

The second to last track on the album is the party-esque Renai Revolution 21 (13-nin Version) (恋愛レボリューション, Love Revolution 21). This is a fun song. I’m actually quite surprised with myself, maybe I’m not as uptight as I think I am. The vocals performances I want to highlight because they were good, perfectly n-sync and made this song quite a treat for the ears, plus I love it when they say: ‘love revolution!’

The last track on the album is the rather sweet Nanni mo Iwazu ni I Love You (なんにも言わずに, Without Saying a Word, I Love You). This song goes completely over my head, I won’t lie, half the time I wasn’t even paying attention to it and then when I would I would think: ‘hmm? this is a nice song’ the chorus is pretty light and simple and gives off a sort of young innocence that is charming. The vocal performances were as sweet as the song suggests, I really liked the chorus, their cute somewhat immature vocals meshed together really made me want to smile and how adorable was the ‘i love you’ at the end?

-GRADE: B+
Rating: ** stars

Morning Musume’s fourth album 4th Ikimasshoi! was better than I expected it to be. The only Momusu albums I recall liking are their first (favorite) and eighth albums, the rest pretty much fade into the background. I mean I’ve already gushed about how much I love ‘mr. moonlight’ and how its my favorite Momusu song, but besides that I didn’t really expect to like more than a handful of tracks on here and came out liking nearly the whole album. I’m very amazed by this, but in the end this was a pretty good album; ‘Dekkai Uchuu ni Ai ga Aru’ definitely stands out and is one of my favorites now.

One Response to “Morning Musume [4th Ikimasshoi! (4th 「いきまっしょい!」; Let’s go!)] (Fourth Album)”

  1. FoomoUnak Says:

    cool sitename man)))
    ————————
    signature: http://ponon.ru/njg477m


Leave a Reply

