Tohoshinki [Dōshite Kimi o Suki ni Natte Shimattandarō] (23rd Single)

April 21, 2009

Dōshite Kimi o Suki ni Natte Shimattandarō (Why Did I Fall In Love With You)
Box in the ship
Doushite Kimi wo Suki ni Natte Shimattandarou (A Cappella version)

Tohoshinki’s 23rd single starts off with the a-side Dōshite Kimi o Suki ni Natte Shimattandarō (Why Did I Fall In Love With You). I won’t even get started on why there’s a sudden trend of long titles… after ‘sennen no koi’ disappointed me like nothing else, I was completely wary of this song especially after finding out it was a ballad. I really like this song, though not as much as I should. The arrangement is very gentle, that’s the best word I can use to describe it. The vocal performances were pretty decent in this, the best being Junsu especially when he takes the song out. JaeJoong sounded good as well, but I wasn’t too fond of how high his voice got on that one: ‘doshite’ part. This is a nice little ballad from them, though they have better: *cough*begin*cough*proud*cough*

The next track on the single is its b-side Box in the ship. Um… yeah. When I first listened to this, I loved it. In fact I hadn’t been more impressed by one of their b-sides since ‘gosenshi’ but listening to it now, I’m wondering what I was on. This song is ridiculous. The arrangement starts off sounding island-y and that’s pretty nice, but then the whole: ‘oh-e-oh’ thing they do comes in and ruins that for me. Then towards the latter half of the song and practically out the blue the arrangement turns Arabian!?! I’m like, what? The vocal performances are pretty hit and miss, though mostly grating and the only voice that stood out was Junsu’s. It also sounded like they were saying ‘boxing the sheep’ even though it was clear that they sung ‘box in the ship’ this is a weird and very annoying song.

The last track on the single is Doushite Kimi wo Suki ni Natte Shimattandarou (A Cappella version). I’m not a fan of acapella’s; shock. I know Tohoshinki/DBSK can sing, it doesn’t need to be proven and this was boring and a bit painful.

-GRADE: B
Rating: ** stars

Tohoshinki’s 23rd single Dōshite Kimi o Suki ni Natte Shimattandarō was a lot better than ‘beautiful you/sennen koi uta’ that’s for sure. ‘Dōshite Kimi o Suki ni Natte Shimattandarō’ was a nice ballad, but it pales in comparison to their previous better ballads. ‘Box in the sheep’ could have been a good song, but it played more like a joke than a serious creative venture. ‘Dōshite Kimi o Suki ni Natte Shimattandarō (A Cappella version)’ I didn’t really care for.  On a side note the cover art is breathtaking…

Leave a Reply

