Tommy Heavenly6 [PAPERMOON] (9th Single)

April 25, 2009

cd05PAPERMOON
Ruby Shoes

Tommy Heavenly6’s 9th single starts off with the a-side PAPERMOON. I didn’t like this song when I first listened to it and now on the single, I still don’t like it. I’m not a fan of Tommy’s heavenly persona, but I do like a handful of her tracks, this on the other hand does nothing to differentiate itself from what I’ve already heard from her and better. The arrangement is a pretty typical punk rock arrangement, slightly interesting, more interesting than the song and at certain points gave me a Visual Kei vibe. Tommy’s vocal performance is nothing to write home about as she sounded like she was struggling with this track the entire time and I kept thinking, ‘why?’ as this song asks for nothing. It also seems a lot longer than its over four minutes running time. This is a pretty average and forgettable a-side from Tommy.

The next track on the single is its b-side Ruby Shoes. This is even more underwhelming than the a-side. Typical punk rock arrangement and Tommy giving a decent, though better than the previous track vocal performance. I don’t know, for this song to be so short it certainly gets uninteresting fast, I stopped paying attention a quarter of the ways through.

-GRADE: D
Rating: * star

Tommy Heavenly6’s 9th single PAPERMOON was one forgettable single. I had a feeling I wasn’t going to like either song, despite liking there song titles. I don’t know, both ‘papermoon’ and ‘ruby shoes’ seem so subpar compared to what I’ve already heard from this persona.

Leave a Reply

