Tommy February6 [Tommy airline] (Second Album)

May 4, 2009

AttenTion pLEasE
je t’aime ★ je t’aime
sEpia memory
Futari no Seaside
CAndY EyEs doLLS
ChOOSe mE or Die
daNCin’ bABY
SwEEt dREAM
ThE RoSe fraGranCe
MaGic in youR Eyes
I still love you boy
Love is forever

The album starts off with the intro AttenTion pLEasE. It just consists of Tommy I guess talking over the intercom on a plane, introducing everyone to the album, because we obviously hadn’t figured out we’re listening to it.

The next track on the album is the slow-paced je t’aime ★ je t’aime. I don’t know why I always go into this song thinking its going to be up-tempo, but there you go. This isn’t a song that particularly stands out, but it has a nice flow. The arrangement makes me think of sailing, which is a nice feeling and I thought Tommy gave a  good, yet straight-forward vocal performance. Its not the strongest start to an album, but its a decent one.

The next track on the album is the somewhat mid-tempo sEpia memory. This was a pretty surprising listen, because I don’t recall liking it when I first listened to this album. The arrangement is very pop oriented and I’m wondering if that was a xylophone? or keyboard twinkling in the background or if I’m going crazy. I’m guessing I’m thinking xylophone because the arrangement sounds so kiddy, bubblegum pop-ish. Tommy’s vocals were quite nice and though I can’t really recall the verses I thought the chorus was catchy.

The next track on the album is the refreshing Futari no Seaside. I love this song, I mean this is just one of those songs you never get tired of and every time I hear it I just have to smile, even when I’m in a bad mood. The arrangement is so quirky yet straightforward at the same time and made me think of driving down a long stretch of road with the sky overhead, blue and endless. I love Tommy’s vocals, she sounded pretty. The chorus is my favorite part, but the verses are definitely worth a mention as well. I also love how incredibly catchy and easy-going this song is, but it seems to carry a subtle note of sadness or maybe wistfulness. It could just be me though.

The next track on the album is the poppy CAndY EyEs doLLS. This song isn’t particularly stand-out, but its decent enough. The arrangement is very light pop, to the point that I kept thinking of innocence and very light colors while listening to it. Tommy’s vocals are just as light as the arrangement which is fitting, but pretty pass. The track is catchy in a very Tommy February6 like way, but at the same time, its pretty forgettable as well. I do like the chorus though.

The next track on the album is the unsettling ChOOSe mE or Die. This song is rather misleading. I mean the arrangement sounds very dated, keyboard-ish 80’s, that’s not a bad thing, because it works. Tommy’s vocals are pretty good, this song also sounds a bit serious. The choose me or I’ll kill you part was a bit random, but she certainly got the point across. This isn’t a bad song, but it falls into the same category as the previous, despite the whole ‘love me or die’ thing, this song is pretty forgettable.

The next track on the album is the infectious daNCin’ bABY. I really like this song, I do. The arrangement is so 80’s, such a blast from the past with the heavy use of synth and electronica. It was very catchy and definitely puts you in a dancing sort a mood. Tommy’s vocals were so Madonna in the early eighties, in fact that’s the vibe I got and I kept thinking of her songs ‘borderline’ and ‘lucky star’ this is one song I can see myself enjoying on every listen, seriously.

The next track on the album is the misty SwEEt dREAM. This song really gives me that feeling, as it reflects the title as the atmosphere is somewhat hazy and dreamy. The arrangement was synth, but I liked the whole flow of it, even if it did confuse me at one point. Tommy’s vocals were good in this track as well, her voice sounding almost slurred and sweet, to give off that feeling of a sweet dream.

The next track on the album is ThE RoSe fraGranCe. This song went completely over my head and I really hate how it just ended. The arrangement was the typical 80’s synth, but so stale and uninteresting I wonder why they even bothered. Tommy’s vocals weren’t any better because she sounded like a robot and we all know they sound bored. This is by far the weakest track on the album.

The next track on the album is the stale MaGic in youR Eyes. This song is really annoying. I mean I’ve heard worse, but while listening to this I kept wondering when it was going to end. The arrangement is way synthed to death and so kid bop its amazing. I actually want to vomit because while listening to it I kept thinking of the color pink and the keyboard solo towards the middle of the song didn’t help either. Tommy’s vocals are forgettable, I really didn’t care for it, she sounded to wannabe cute for my tastes or uninterested in the track, either or.

The next track on the album is the heart-wrenching I still love you boy. Wow. I honestly didn’t think Tommy had it in her, but this is quite the poignant track. The arrangement is gorgeous, its so reminiscent of the 80’s. It made me think of ‘take my breathe away’ with how fluid and emotional it was, I mean for an arrangement. Tommy’s vocals were quite good, she sounded very different, if only because her vocal performance was so serious and emotionally charged. It made me think: ‘she really will always love this guy…’ it gave me that kind of vibe.

The last track on the album is my personal favorite Love is forever. I love this song, its my favorite Tommy song, period. This is the song that got me interested in Tommy in the first place and its the reason why I like her February6 persona more. The arrangement is of course the synth, but its fun and innocent and definitely gives off this feeling of long-lasting love. Tommy’s vocal performance was quite adorable and I just love when she gets around to singing the chorus, you can tell she really enjoyed recording this. This song is just the love, I never get tired of hearing it.

-GRADE: B+
Rating: **1/2 stars

Tommy February6’s second album Tommy airline was a better listen this time around than it was the first time I gave this album a listen, because then I only cared for ‘futari no seaside’ and ‘love is forever’. I’m not a fan of the eighties, though that could be because I was born a year before the nineties. However, I’ll listen to anything once and I really found myself enjoying February’s overuse of the synth. I mean who new I could listen to it in succession and not lose my mind? February put a creative twist on the sound and made a slew of catchy, colorful and meaningful tracks (not to mention some top notch vocal performances): ‘i still love you boy’ really touched me, ‘futari no seaside’ is like the epitome of nostalgia, ‘dancing baby’ is all kinds of catchy love and I know my heart swells every time I hear ‘love is forever’ this was a really good and creative album from February6 and I believe my favorite album from her to date.

*This is an old review, this is the first of a slew of reviews I did before I decided to go on my hiatus. [March 18th, 2009]

Leave a Reply

