Ai Kawashima [Kakera/Flag] (16th Single)

May 9, 2009

s.16 Kakera
Flag
Taiyou Densha

Ai Kawashima’s 16th double a-side single starts off with the a-side Kakera. This song is pretty baseless. The arrangement is simple and Ai gives an OK though really weak vocal performance. I don’t know this song isn’t all that bad, but its really just dull in my opinion and its pretty forgettable.

The next track on the single is its second a-side Flag. This song isn’t bad, but it plays like a more livelier version of the a-side. I mean the arrangement is just as simple, just not as slow-paced and the same can be said for Ai’s vocals, which are still pretty weak. Its not bad, but there’s just nothing about this song that stands out, it seems so recycled.

The next track on the album is the b-side Taiyou Densha. I’m honestly wishing they would have left this album off on ‘flag’ because I didn’t think it could get any more duller than the first a-side or as forgettable as the second a-side. The arrangement sounds like the two a-side arrangements combined, I just ignored it completely. Ai’s weak vocals become glaring towards the end when she starts ‘la,la,la’ing’ with some random guy and then it just got annoying. It also doesn’t help that this song is absurdly long, so it was almost like slowly being driven insane. This track could have been so much better than this, but its just such a tedious listen.

-GRADE: D
Rating: * star

Ai Kawashima’s 16th single Kakera/Flag is as disappointing as a single can get, seriously. If you had to listen to this awful single on repeat it would probably drive you to suicide, its just that bad. I mean even the redeeming qualities such as the simple arrangements aren’t all that redeemable, because you’re too busy trying to ignore the song that is playing. I admire my self-control, because I wanted to –more times than one– press the stop button. Door Crawl wasn’t all that good, but it wasn’t bad either. This? I don’t know what this is, but it fails disastrously.

*This is an old review, this is the first of a slew of reviews I did before I decided to go on my hiatus. [April 17th, 2009]

Leave a Reply

