Tommy Heavenly6 [Heavy Starry Heavenly] (Second Album)

May 9, 2009

Heavy Starry Chain
Stay away from me
I’m Gonna SCREAM+
My bloody knee-high-socks
DOOR MAT
Lollipop Candy ♥BAD♥ girl [album version]
THE CASE
ABOUT U
I♥Xmas
Pray
GOING 2 MY WAY!
Lucky Me

The album starts off with the up-tempo Heavy Starry Chain. I’ve always rather liked this song, despite it not being anything overly amazing. The arrangement is of course pop-rock; fitting, though it sounds awfully familiar. I did enjoy Tommy’s vocals in this, especially during the chorus, she brought a bit of character to this track and made it a lot more interesting than it would have been otherwise, though its still a little oddly bland. Its a decent start to the album.

The next track on the album keeps the mid-tempo’s coming with Stay away from me. This song is a bit more hard-hitting than the previous track, but a lot more unmemorable. The arrangement is the typical punk-rock fare, but I did like Tommy’s vocal performance and the: ‘i hate you’ part. The song is a bit short though and just seems to end. I like it somewhat though.

The next track on the album hits us with a little more rock with I’m Gonna SCREAM+. I think its interesting how the last track is titled, ‘stay away from me’ and its followed up by ‘im gonna scream’ its kind a clever if you look at it in that regard. The arrangement is typical rock and a bit more hard-hitting than the previous two songs and I like how it ended with the drum solo. Tommy’s vocals were good, she seemed pretty into it and brought a lot of feeling to the chorus. This is a decent track, though not one I would listen to just to listen to it.

The next track on the album is the morbidly titled My bloody knee-high-socks. Ah, what an uneasy title. It makes me think she’s talking about how her legs are caked in blood up to her kneecaps and it reminds her of those knee high socks all the naughty school girls like to wear… anyways, this is a pretty interesting song. Its same, a bit hollow, but I liked Tommy’s vocal performance and I also thought it was amusing when she started shouting: ‘my blood knee-high socks!’ (shudder).

The next track on the album is DOOR MAT. I don’t know, this song isn’t bad, but it doesn’t leave much of an impression either. Typical rock-y arrangement that was pretty blase, but fitting. Tommy’s vocal performance was decent, she seemed into it, mostly the chorus. I guess I like the whole ‘choose your friends and don’t be a follower’ message of the song, mostly because of what she says at the end. The title makes sense to me now.

The next track on the album is the in your face Lollipop Candy ♥BAD♥ girl [album version]. This is perhaps the stand-out track on the album, because other than ‘heavy starry chain’ this is the only song I remember. The arrangement is pretty cool, despite being nothing I haven’t already heard before. Tommy gave a good vocal performance, I really liked the whole angry duel vocal thing and the chorus is catchy. I thought it was odd and neat at the same time how the music changed towards the end and sounded very, mosh-pit-ish? Yeah…

The next track on the album is the short THE CASE. Ah, this certainly seemed longer than it actually was. Um, this isn’t a bad song, I kind a really like the consistent drum arrangement and Tommy’s vocal performance was appropriately edgy, but I just don’t like how typical it is. Oh, it also plays like filler.

The next track on the album is the pretty mellow ABOUT U. This song is also pretty dull and oddly short. The arrangement is rather stagnant and seemed to play like some sort of buzzing in my ear. Tommy’s vocal performance was all right, but she just came across as bored to me. This song always seems to start and finish without being felt which in the end makes it pretty forgettable.

The next track on the album is the oddly flat I♥Xmas. I really hate random Christmas songs, especially considering this album was released in March of ’07. Its not one of the bad ones though, so that’s a relief. The arrangement is soft rock, but kind a unmemorable, even if it does suit the song. Tommy’s vocals are fine, but I felt she could have done more, she seemed a bit uninterested in my opinion. This is an all right track, it could have been worse (thinks of that Bennie K. Christmas song off their Japana-rhythm album).

The next track on the album is a personal favorite, Pray. This is most likely the only Heavenly6 song I care for, if only because it reminds me of a rock version of ‘lonely in gorgeous’.

The second to last track on the album is GOING 2 MY WAY!. This track turned out to be a bit better than I thought it would be. The arrangement is rock of course, but a bit grudge as well as it sounded very heavy. Tommy’s vocal performance was appropriate I would suppose, though she sounded a bit desperate in a longing kind a way. I’ve never really noticed this track, but its all right.

The last track on the album is the short Lucky Me. There really isn’t anything to say about this song, since its a typical soft rock track. It was a pretty decent end to the album though.

-GRADE: B
Rating: ** stars

Tommy Heavenly6’s second album Heavy Starry Heavenly is all right, but I don’t really care for it. I’ve said it before I don’t really like the Heavenly6 persona and not because its the rock alter ego, because I don’t really like pop either, its because it just doesn’t interest me. The only reason why I took this persona up is because it wouldn’t make any sense to just do February6, since they’re one in the same, even if they’re different. I gave this album a B because it had some pretty good tracks on it such as ‘heavy starry chain’, ‘lollipop candy bad girl’ and my personal favorite ‘pray’, the others were pretty all right rock tracks as well. I most likely won’t listen to this album again, but it wasn’t bad.

*This is an old review, this is the first of a slew of reviews I did before I decided to go on my hiatus. [March 30th, 2009]

Leave a Reply

