alan [Gunjou no Tani] (8th Single)

May 11, 2009

gunjou-no-taniGunjou no Tani
Gunjou no Tani (Acoustic Version)

alan’s 8th single starts off with the a-side Gunjou no Tani. I was more than prepared to be unimpressed, I wasn’t impressed, but I did come out liking this song a whole lot more than I thought I would. The arrangement is like mild rock, or maybe I’m just thinking of it along those lines. I’m a bit pleased by how, well somewhat lively it seems, since I was expecting it be more slow-paced, perhaps flowing. Its almost distracting in a sense, but fitting. alan’s vocals weren’t ‘wow’ like they were in ‘red cliff’, but I thought she sounded pretty good, I actually liked all those high-note ad-lids she hit. I’m not much of an alan fan, but this is the best a-side I’ve heard from her since ‘red cliff’ and I am very much so relieved by that.

The next track on the single is Gunjou no Tani (Acoustic Version). Hmm? I like acoustic versions of songs, but sometimes they come across as a bit boring. I do like this though. The arrangement is guitar based of course and it allows for alan’s vocals to stand out more, which is a good thing, because she does have a nice voice. I’m not sure which one I prefer more; this is a good version of the original.

-GRADE: A
Rating: *** stars

alan’s 8th single Gunjou no Tani was better than I expected it to be. I mean her five elemental releases really made me wary of her, but after this I think my confidence in her musical ability has returned, somewhat. I know ‘kuon no kana’ comes before this, but since its like ‘red cliff’ all over again, I decided to just review this and get it out the way. Gunjou no Tani is a good song and I believe I’ll enjoy it even more on the album. I’m glad alan opted for an acoustic version of said song instead of an b-side, otherwise I doubt I would have gave this album an A. Hopefully her singles only get better from here.

*This is an old review, this is the first of a slew of reviews I did before I decided to go on my hiatus. [April 14th, 2009]

Leave a Reply

