Bennie K. [Cube] (First Album)

September 12, 2008

SCHOOL GIRL ~Tokyo Ver.~
Sunshine
NAI
Silence
Hole In Da Tribe
Saishuu Kessen
Riyuu 1 ~Interlude~
Melody ~night fly~
Title Call ~Interlude~
Crazy Day
P-DAD
Superdome

Bennie K.’s Cube starts off with one of my favorite Bennie K. songs and the best track on the album, SCHOOL GIRL. This is actually the Tokyo version of the song, and I must say it’s a lot like a school girl anthem. Yuki’s vocals are great, as usual, and Cico of course adds her flare with her deep voice. This is also a fun song because it’s so engaging and kind of rebellious in way…goodness knows I hated High school.

The pace slows down a little with the next track, Sunshine. I didn’t think this song was going to be so down-tempo, but it’s a smooth rnb number, with nice vocals from Yuki and Cico adding her aud-libs along the way. It’s not a memorable one, but definitely a nice song to relax too on a sunny day, while driving in your car.

We pick up the pace with the next track, the oddly titled NAI. (I’m wondering if it’s an acronym or something) I have a very eclectic taste in music, sometimes to the point that it shocks me. This song by anyone other than an eccentric or a hardcore Bennie K. fan, would think this song was cheesy and terribly pointless. Cico really shines in this, and really I recall only hearing her, because her voice is so raw and in your face. I’m not sure if I’m right but I think at points during the chorus she says, ‘can’t fuck with me now!’. I do enjoy this song, it’s so different and lame, but a good kind of lame.

The next track is down-tempo, and has mostly vocals from YUKI as where the previous track was more of a CICO song without actually being a solo song. SILENCE is a nice smooth rnb song reminiscent of Sunshine, but a lot more laid back and melancholy in a way. Yuki delivers, and though Bennie K. aren’t as popular as they should be, Yuki without a doubt has one of the best voices in J-Music I have ever heard.

The next track is one of those songs by Bennie K. where the title really makes me think, ‘this song is going to suck’, Hole In Da Tribe is one of those songs by Bennie K. that is really hit or miss for me. The song started out promising, and delivered in a sense, I mean the ‘hole in da tribe’ part of the chorus actually meshed well and in a way it’s not a bad song, it’s just ridiculous. Like some of their songs tend to be.

Saishuu Kessen the next track, has this odd Arabian and stealth thing going for it, because the whole instrumental sounded very spy-like. I’d have to say this song is a cross between mid-tempo and down-tempo, but it’s very uninteresting and forgettable. Absolutely nothing but the odd arrangement stands out, and it plays more like filler than an actual track.

The first interlude on the album bleeds in next, Riyuu 1. Which is a strange title. I hear thunder and I believe CICO says: ‘words can not express the feelings that I have, but the music can’. I suppose they were going for dramatic but the whole thing was very bland and uneventful. CICO’s English was good though.

I feel really bad that I dislike this next track, because it has so much potential. Melody ~night fly~ is boring in every sense of the word and even YUKI’s sorrowful vocals could not save this song from mediocrity. I also thought that CICO’s segments though all right in there own way took away from the song, and made it not only boring but weak. The arrangement is very pretty though, this songs only saving grace, that and YUKI. NOTE: This song isn’t so much boring this time around, its pretty laid-back and mellow.

The second and last interlude on the album is Title Call, and it’s even more bland and forgettable than the other one. At least YUKI’s vocals are strong.

I’m really fond of this next song, Crazy Day. It’s very urban and edgy and a lot of fun. I definitely love the chorus, because CICO really brings it to life. It’s similar to NAI, only a lot less lame and a whole lot better.

The second to last track on the album P-DAD really surprised me, because I’ve listened to this album before, and I’m not sure if this has ever caught my attention. It’s probably the most rnb-influenced song on the album, as where some were more hip-hop flavored, and it definitely gives one the feeling of familiarity. I loved YUKI’s vocals in this song, because they’re very clear, and nearly forces you to sing along because the chorus is very catchy. It’s almost like a party song, but not quite.

The last track on the album seemed like one just tacked on for last minute reference and to perhaps make the track list seem longer. Superdome delivers nothing, not even amusement, and is forgotten as soon as it ends. I really wish they would have ended it with P-DAD, then the album would have left one with a feeling of fun and contentment.

-GRADE: B-
Rating: ** stars

Bennie K. is another group that I never see reviewed when I go to J-Music review sites and it’s really irritating, because I would like to see others opinions concerning them, and maybe a little reassurance that I’m not the only one that thinks they’re very talented, different and extremely underrated. Anyways, Bennie K.’s first album is not as good as I hoped it would be, mostly because it’s entirely too short, with twelve tracks, ten excluding the interludes. It is just not enough to get the point across. They have some really unique songs on here, such as NAI and Crazy Day, and I absolutely adore SCHOOL GIRL and P-DAD which are the two best tracks on the album. Cube isn’t a dud album, it’s one of their best actually, but as a debut, it’s just not good enough and way too short to make much of a stand. Nostalgic for Bennie K. fans, because they don’t really do this type of clear-cut rnb music anymore, but for casual fans, it’s worth one listen.

Leave a comment