AnyBand [AnyCall] (1st Single)

November 3, 2008

TPL (Talk Play Love)
Promise U
Daydream (Cover of popular German song “Scream”)

Anyband’s 1st (and most likely last) single starts off with the a-side TPL (Talk Play Love). I shouldn’t be so disappointed that there may never be a second or third single and the release of an album. I mean they were a concept group meant to promote cellphones and promote them they did because this song shot up to No. 1. I wasn’t too enthused with this idea when it first came out, mostly because it had Junsu in the group, and I didn’t want this to interfere with his DBSK/Tohoshinki duties. I really tried not to like this song, but well I obviously failed in that regard. Jin Bora displayed some really kick-ass piano skills (I wonder if she’s going to come out with some solo material, or if she has already?), I was impressed, she’s way talented. Tablo is a really good rapper, and that’s saying something because I don’t too much care for K-Rappers, or Asian rappers period. BoA of course sung her heart out, and Junsu who was the highlight really did his thing. This was a surprisingly really good and catchy song. I even found myself enjoying the video immensely, and I don’t really care for videos. They picked the right people for this collaboration, I must say.

The second track on the single is the b-side Promise U. This was also featured in the video they released. I didn’t like this song when I first heard it, and I believe it was because it sounded like BoA and her backup singers. Still though she really did a good job vocal wise on this song, and so did Junsu whose voice I just adore. Tablo was absent, and I was a little disappointed with that. Jin Bora, though she doesn’t add anything vocally really displayed some beautiful piano skills.

The third track on the album is a cover of some German song called Scream. They changed the name to Daydream. This sounds like some song you would play at a Halloween party, which I thought was kind of freaky and kind of endearing. Tablo talks at the beginning, and that’s it. The main vocals are BoA and Junsu (mostly BoA), and Jin Bora plays the piano, all lovely and Halloween-ish like. I didn’t like this song, even though it wasn’t a bad cover.

-GRADE: A
Rating: *** stars

AnyBand’s 1st single AnyCall was a really good single. I was so surprised that I enjoyed this single so much, considering I was so against it when it first came out. TPL is one of the catchiest songs I’ve ever heard, Promise U is pretty damn good for a power ballad and Daydream was a downer, but the vocals were good, I’ll give it that. I wouldn’t mind hearing some new material from them, but…yeah.

Leave a comment