Bennie K. [essence] (Second Album)

November 4, 2008

CRYSTAL
ALRIGHT
Tegami (手紙)
Better Days
HIDE
MUSIC
Hinadan (ひなだん)
Sunday noon
Nagori Natsu (なごり 夏)
MY WAY

The album starts off with the sparkly CRYSTAL. I like how the title is crystal, and it sounds like a crystal. Its weird, but the arrangement sounds like how a crystal would sound if you could hear one. Its a pretty basic and mellow arrangement, but its nice. YUKI’s vocals are good as usual, she sung this song in a lilting like way that I really enjoyed, bringing a little interest to the song. I can’t really recall CICO’s part, but I remember hearing her deep voice throughout. The chorus is really the only thing that makes this song stand out, and is the main reason why I like this track.

The next track is the up-tempo ALRIGHT. This is a pretty nice song. The arrangement is fresh, and gives you this feel good feeling of contentment. YUKIs vocals were nice and airy, and of course CICO did her thing by aud-libbing briefly, but she was strangely absent in this song. I also like how this song has a definite summer-y flow to it, and it really gives you this, ‘everything’s gonna be all right’ feeling on the inside. A nice song, that I didn’t like at first, but I really enjoy now.

The next track on the album is the down-tempo Tegami (手紙). This song is pretty hit or miss. On the hit side its a pretty nice song, on the miss side its pretty forgettable. The arrangement is very light rnb and has a nice flow to it. CICO did a few aud-libs to the song, that blended in well and YUKI’s vocals were nice, though she went for very high tones that made it sound like her voice was going out, or that she couldn’t quite reach the range she was trying to achieve. This is a rather nice song. I didn’t like this track at first, but now I kind of do.

The next track on the album is the heartwarming Better Days. This is one of my favorite Bennie K. songs, because it just exudes nostalgia like nothing else. CICO shines in this song, she really does. Her tone while she was rapping was very thoughtful and deep, and that really absorbs you. YUKI’s vocal performance in this song was just gorgeous, because her voice sounds so wistful, longing and weighed down by emotions. This song makes me think of when I was younger, and how things seemingly made sense. I always have the urge to cry when I hear this song. I miss those days.

The next track on the album is the somewhat down-tempo HIDE. This is what I would label as smooth rnb, because it has such a nice pace going for it, that really stays consistent and keeps you interested. The best part about this song is YUKI’s vocals during the chorus, which stands out more than anything and CICO’s aud-libs afterwards which brought a lot of personality to this track. I’m not sure if that was this songs intention, but it comes across as very melancholy to me. Definitely one of my favorite Bennie K. songs.

The next track is the urban and somewhat Arabian MUSIC. This is an interesting song, that would be great to play at a party because its pretty darn danceable. I love YUKI’s deep vocal tones during this song, made it very urban sounding along with the beat that gave me this feeling of mystic and secrecy. The rap parts even added flavor and appeal to this song, and I found that I quite enjoyed them. I’m not sure if it was CICO though, but it most likely was her rapping. This is a pretty decent song.

The next track on the album is the quirky Hinadan (ひなだん). I get a Middle Eastern, Arabian like vibe from the arrangement, which is a good thing, adds a lot of mystic, sensuality and secrecy. I also really liked how experimental the arrangement was, adding a dapple of variety to this album. YUKI’s vocal performance was really good, the tones she used really brought a lot of intrigue to this song and kept it going when you would have long gotten bored or tired with it, especially when she hits that odd note towards the end… for some reason I can’t recall CICO’s parts?

The next track is the laid-back Sunday noon. This song really does remind you of a calm Sunday morning. The arrangement is really smooth, and I like how it doesn’t do much but still stays interesting and consistent. YUKI’s vocal performance was really nice. She sung in an un-hurried tone, that really set the right mood and pace. CICO’s part as well were very easy-going and blended right in. I get the whole, ‘why can’t i leave him alone?’ vibe from this song, especially when YUKI says: ‘i’m still callin’ your number’. Hmm?

The second to last track on the album is the heartwarming Nagori Natsu (なごり 夏). Oh, I really just love this song. It’s so wonderful. The arrangement is really just gorgeous, setting such a somber mood, enveloping you with such isolating sadness. It also offers contemplation. YUKI’s vocals are wonderful, wonderful, I love how she sung this song as if her voice was weighed down. It was like the sadness was just moving through her, and she conveyed that perfectly. CICO’s vocals were also very somber, and thoughtful. I really liked the emotion they conveyed in this song, it really is a song that can just move you to tears.

The last track on the album is the feel good MY WAY. I really love that Bennie K. chose to end the album on this song, because its just really one of those songs that just brighten your day, and makes everything seem worthwhile at the end of it all. I love the arrangement, its so upbeat without really doing too much and it stays interesting and consistent with just enough rhythm to it to get your body moving. YUKI’s vocals were airy and full of love, and self-assured-ness. CICO also did her part, her deep voice bringing a lot of character and variety to the song. I mean its like no matter what, I’m glad I’m ME. Its the perfect way to end a great album.

-GRADE: A+
Rating: *** stars

Bennie K.’s second album essence is ten times better than I thought it would be. I mean when I first heard this album, I thought it was good of course, but not as good as I think it is now. I was really surprised that I found myself liking ALRIGHT, Tegami and Hinadan, but mostly Hinadan. I’m really surprised at just how much I enjoyed this album, and that I enjoyed every last song on here, which is very rare. I would have probably gave this album four stars, but its much too short, and the album, though good, never gets to that point. CRYSTAL was a nice and fresh way to start the album. Better Days, HIDE, MUSIC, Sunday noon and Nagori Natsu really fills out this album nicely, and managed to play like straight album material songs, instead of pointless filler tracks. MY WAY ended the album on a sure note, and makes you want to listen to it all over again. This album managed to exceed Cube, and this is in truth my favorite Bennie K. album, and sadly the last of that true rnb flavor they incorporated into their sound. I’m not saying they don’t do rnb anymore, but just not like they did it in essence or Cube. essence is the last of a great and brief era in Bennie K.’s music career. I really hope they return to this sound someday… soon.

Leave a comment